1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RP-AC68U Repeater AC1900 Settings

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Col8eral, Jun 12, 2019.

  1. Col8eral

    Col8eral Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Hi

    I have just got myself an RP-AC68U WiFi Repeater AC1900 and wanted to ask peoples recommendations for settings. At the moment I have set it as a wireless repeater for 2.4 and 5ghz channels.

    1. my main router (RT-AC88U) is set for https login. Should I set the repeater to be the same?
    2. should the SSIDs be the same in th repeater as the main router? If so how would I know what device is connected to which ASUS unit?
    3. if I use roaming assistant, should roam assist be turned on for both the main router and the repeater?
    4. Does a device have to login with password to both maiin router and repeater in order for the roam assist too work?
    5. I have 3 bars for 2.4ghz and 2 and sometimes 3 bars for 5ghz. When I do a broadband speed test its only half thee rate as if I was on the main router. Is this correct or do i need to play with the position of the repeater?

    Many thanks in advance
     
  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,582
    Location:
    UK
    1. Whatever you prefer.
    2. Again, your preference. You can log into the repeater to see who's connected.
    3. Don't know. Don't use it.
    4. It would have to log in to the access point when it connects to it. It wouldn't be logged into both at the same time. It's no different than if you had manually switched access points.
    5. Depends on the exact numbers you're seeing and what your link rates are. But remember that WLAN bandwidth is halved when using a repeater (on the same band).
     
  3. Col8eral

    Col8eral Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    If I set it up as an AP would I get better speeds with the backhaul being Ethernet?
     
  4. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,582
    Location:
    UK
    Yes. An Ethernet connected AP is always the much preferred option. Repeaters are always the least desirable option.
     
  5. Col8eral

    Col8eral Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Would AP mode give me speeds the same as being connected the main router.

    Also does roam assist still work with AP mode.
     
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,582
    Location:
    UK
    Yes

    Well you can still set in on the main router because that hasn't changed (roam assist effects all local wireless clients). You'd have to check yourself whether roam assist is still available on the AP.