1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC86U 5Ghz issue

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Vezeil, Jun 2, 2020.

  1. Vezeil

    Vezeil New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    So i got my new ac86u today, installed it changed some settings and stuff, everything worked fine for 1 hour i did a speedtest on my phone to check the 5ghz and the result was 0mbps, after 10 minutes it kicked me from the 5ghz and from then i can't connect to it, i tried a factory reset, updating the firmware but nothing works.

    I did google the problem and i found some threads from here with the same problem, is the only thing i have left to do is get a replacement or there is some solution to it.
     
  2. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,753
    Location:
    USA
    Make sure the WiFi switch is ON; try with another wireless client; otherwise, exchange it for a new one.

    OE
     
    Vezeil likes this.
  3. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,217
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
  4. Vezeil

    Vezeil New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    8
  5. Vezeil

    Vezeil New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Well now even the 5ghz LED doesn't work. smh
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    ??
    where are the channels what.
    Radio is enabled
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2020
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,114
    Location:
    UK
    When it's showing channel 0 that usually means a hardware failure of the radio. The unit needs to be replaced.

    You could try completely removing the power for 60 seconds and then plugging it back in and seeing if the fault corrects itself. Otherwise you're SOL.
     
    bitsbytes and Vezeil like this.
  7. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    13,026
  8. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,217
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
  9. Vezeil

    Vezeil New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    I'll give it a try but first i have some update.

    I unplugged the router from everything and let it rest for like 10 minutes, turned it on and pressed the reset button behind the router for my surprise the 5ghz LED was on
    so i thought great i fixed it but yeah...no.. First the connection to the router site was really really slow and at one point it was just stuck so i rebooted it again, everything went fine
    5ghz led is on but sure i still can't connect to it(no matter which channel), the SSID was flashing on and off on my phone.. In the end i was looking at some settings and without changing anything it lagged again...rebooted the router and the 5ghz LED turned off....

    I turned it off for another 10min and the 5g LED turned on.... idk man..weird.
    So basically when the 5g Led is on i can't connect to it anyways (even if it shows on my phone without disappearing) and when the LED is off the whole router goes boom

    Idk i think the router is just broken, I barley touched any settings in my first hour with it and it just went boom.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2020
  10. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,114
    Location:
    UK
    It happens (the same as any product). Better that it happens now so you can get it replaced rather than in 13 months time.
     
  11. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,217
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    Sill, you should try a factory reset, basic config and reflash the Asus firmware.
     
  12. Sachb

    Sachb Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    115
    I read somewhere that the 2018 and the earlier models have this issue. What year is your router manufactured in?
     
  13. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,753
    Location:
    USA
    I just read that somewhere, too! :rolleyes:

    OE
     
    Sachb likes this.
  14. Vezeil

    Vezeil New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    2018

    Had it off for the entire night, turned it on in the morning managed to connect once got 0.5mbps in speedtest and then after 2minutes it logged me off, 30minutes later 0 channels again so yeah..
    talked with asus support on the phone they will look into it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2020
  15. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,553
    A number of units manufactured in 2018 had many issues, the most frequent the radios. Short product life by some purchasers was also another complaint. If your unit is still in warranty have ASUS issue an RMA. If you are out of warranty time to buy another router.
     
  16. Sachb

    Sachb Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    115
    My RT-AC88U had the same issue, but this was my fault as I increased the transmit power on it to 1 watt, but it didn't give up like yours, It still seems to work but is in bad shape I believe. I believe mine will work for few hours or even mins and will ultimately drop Wifi.

    Now the only thing you can do is get a replacement unit, or buy something else. I've had no issues with Netgear R7800 router which I purchased around the year 2016.

    It's a solid router, I've flashed Voxel on it many times, but ultimately kept the stock version due to stability.
     
  17. Vezeil

    Vezeil New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    It seems though that it's only the 5ghz which is broken, the router is running since the morning with good wired/2.4ghz WiFi connection. Waiting for Asus to give me a call tmrw.
    I do have a warranty for him so i'll probably get a replacment.

    Funny how the 5ghz LED is on even if i turn the leds off with the button.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2020
  18. calvin tran

    calvin tran Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    I just got mine from Amazon, and it's made in VN in 2020
     
  19. Vezeil

    Vezeil New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    And the 5ghz works fine?
     
  20. MarkyPancake

    MarkyPancake Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    I noticed yesterday that my 86U is a 2017 model. Apart from brief downtime when doing firmware update reboots, as a rough calculation, it's seen over 26,000 hours of service and counting.