1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC86U - apparently need a start-up delay on power up

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by oldserverguy, Jul 19, 2019.

Tags:
  1. oldserverguy

    oldserverguy Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Have a RT-AC86U running 384.11 (will do 384.12 as soon as everything else is stabilized). With a Verizon DSL modem when we had one of the many power outages here in SW Florida that would eventually drain the UPS after power was restored everything would come back up without a problem. Moved to Comcast cable two days ago a using an ARRIS SBG6950AC2 Surfboard modem to replace the Verizon DSL modem. Now when power is applied to both the Arris and the AC86U at the same time I get the "dreaded" red LED. I didn't wait overnight (wife pressure) but I have gone more than 10 minutes in testing. The AC86U runs a VPN for the low IP range and straight out for the highest IPs that have devices that need location services streaming TV.

    Thoughts? Suggestions?
     
  2. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,945
    I use a remote power IP switch.

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00LLVQ9OI/?tag=snbforums-20

    It is setup so 9 seconds after the power is restored my modem is powered up from outlet 1. Then 90 seconds after the power is restored the router plugged into outlet 2 is powered up. Not a cheap solution but when I traveling it is nice to know my IoT devices will have their Internet connection restored so they can communicate with me if they detect any abnormalities while I'm away.

    The device also has other useful features.
     
  3. Val D.

    Val D. Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    222
    What is the system log saying? Why is the WAN light red?
     
  4. Swistheater

    Swistheater Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,209
    Location:
    Florida
    I have several thoughts and questions, but first it will help if you answer Val D. question?

    I will extend this question to be more specific, can you obtain logs from the Modem as well as the router? (specifically around the same time points this instance occurs)
    Sometimes the issue is with Comcast and the modem.
     
  5. oldserverguy

    oldserverguy Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Updated to 384.12. My customer owned Arris takes about 2 1/4 minutes to boot. The WAN LED is red at first but after only about 5 minutes it now turns to white and I can surf the net. One interesting finding - even when it was red I could ping 8.8.8.8 but a web browser was a no go. Have more equipment wiring changes to make tomorrow after I buy some electrical parts so I'll get another chance but I think the update fixed the problem.
     
  6. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,328
    Location:
    /etc
    So it's probably DNS and/or time sync problem.
     
  7. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,328
    Location:
    /etc
    You can sometimes get a race condition in the startup at boot time with conflicting services. One as of late has been the time sync and dns ability early in the boot up. You can resolve the time sync by adding something like:
    Code:
    server=/pool.ntp.org/1.1.1.1
    to dnsmasq.conf.add. Found in /jffs/configs/ This often will clear things up as the system can time sync and therefore start using services like DoT etc. making it possible for your browser to resolve addresses.
     
    gattaca likes this.