1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AX88U & RT-AC68U, AiMesh Configuring........

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by paulieman202020, Jan 13, 2020.

  1. paulieman202020

    paulieman202020 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,

    I was wondering if it would be better to update the firmware to merlin on my RT-AC68U and my RT-AX88U. RT-AX88U is acting as the main router and has Merlin installed.

    I am not necessarily having problems but was wonder if it was beneficial and good practice to have them both running Merlin...

    Thanks in advance!
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2020
    Kingp1n likes this.
  2. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    13,018
    Why haven't you updated to RMerlin yet (is the question)? :)
     
    Smokey613 likes this.
  3. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,924
    Location:
    Riderville, SK
    Leave it as you have it, those are the desired configurations.
     
  4. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    13,018
    Curious why you would say it is the desired configuration when both your routers are on RMerlin firmware? :)
     
  5. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,924
    Location:
    Riderville, SK
    I understood it be his master was merlin and his node was stock. @RMerlin has said a few times that the ideal setup is master with merlin and nodes with stock. It's better for updating or was anyway.
     
    Quoc Huynh, adie and L&LD like this.
  6. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,924
    Location:
    Riderville, SK
    Oh and I do not use AImesh.
     
    L&LD likes this.
  7. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    13,018
    Thanks, @skeal I may be misremembering that that original advice has been superseded now?
     
    skeal likes this.
  8. Stevens243

    Stevens243 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    San Diego
    I've seen Merlin say that mesh nodes on stock FW is just fine. Personally, I run my mesh node on Merlin and I don't have any issues updating it via the WebUI after downloading the .zip from thee update site. I would say, whatever practice keeps your routers up to date is what's best.
     
    L&LD likes this.
  9. paulieman202020

    paulieman202020 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    There isn't anything wrong with the way its working right now.... I just wanted to know if it was a better way of doing things. I did read somewhere that stock firmware on a node was okay tho... could it possibly be better to load merlin on the node?