What's new

RT-N56U as access point with DIR-655

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

sinman02

New Around Here
Hello all. Hope I can get some info and advice here regarding this... I'm not a network engineer so forgive me if I'm not using all the proper terminology. I just ordered the RT-N56U from amazon. I'm hoping to use it primarily to extend the wireless range in my three level home where the connection and cable modem comes in through the basement. I currently have a wired connection to most of my bandwidth hogs but I couldn't get every room hard wired so I have to rely on my wifi connection for these areas. My dir-655 does an adequate job giving me enough bandwidth for basic tasks but not enough to stream video to my second floor master bedroom where I don't have a hard wire connection. I'm hoping to use one of these routers as a wired access point to extend the wifi from my basement by connecting it to my gigabit ethernet connection in my office on the second floor. I'm hoping that doing so will enable me to get enough wifi bandwidth to my master bedroom.