What's new

Secure remote access - how?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Chrisgtl

Regular Contributor
Hi,

I am trying to enable remote access to my 86U running Merlin. When I enable web access from WAN it gives me a security warning and recommends me to use a VPN instead.

I've looked on the Asus help/support forum and can't find what I am looking for.

How do I set this up? Also, I'd like to enable SSH from WAN too but after saving the SSH LAN+WAN it keeps going back to LAN only - is this because I keep changing the SSH port too?

I spend quite a bit of time away from home and I usually get the kids or partner ringing me telling me something is not working so I'd like to be able to login remotely and diagnose the problem.

I have a subscription to TorGuard VPN already but got no idea how to setup remote access via a VPN.

Hi,

I am trying to enable remote access to my 86U running Merlin. When I enable web access from WAN it gives me a security warning and recommends me to use a VPN instead.

I've looked on the Asus help/support forum and can't find what I am looking for.

How do I set this up? Also, I'd like to enable SSH from WAN too but after saving the SSH LAN+WAN it keeps going back to LAN only - is this because I keep changing the SSH port too?

I spend quite a bit of time away from home and I usually get the kids or partner ringing me telling me something is not working so I'd like to be able to login remotely and diagnose the problem.

I have a subscription to TorGuard VPN already but got no idea how to setup remote access via a VPN.