1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

SNB and Ads

Discussion in 'NETGEAR AC Wireless' started by kc6108, Apr 10, 2019.

  1. kc6108

    kc6108 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    Hi,

    In the spirit of supporting SNB, I like to know how to not block ads on this site only.

    Right now I am seeing this at the top of my screen:

    Hi there,
    If you are a regular SNBForums user, please disable your ad and/or tracking blocker for this site. Ads make it possible for us to provide the value you get from SNBForums.
    Thank you, Tim

    My R9000 is running dnscrypt-proxy v2 on Voxel's firmware. I utilize the blacklist functionality using the author's blacklist file which is updated daily:


    What's the easiest way to not blocks ads on this site only?
     
  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10,622
    Location:
    UK
  3. kc6108

    kc6108 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    Hmm... I'm not using Diversion. How do implement this in my scenario?
     
  4. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,929
    Can you not whitelist the domain?
     
  5. kc6108

    kc6108 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    I don't might whitelisting ads, but only for SNB sites.
     
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10,622
    Location:
    UK
    Then you'll have to use a browser based ad-blocker on your client devices.
     
    thelonelycoder and L&LD like this.
  7. coxhaus

    coxhaus Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,335
    Location:
    texas
    I tried to support you but recently I was getting hit too hard and had to implement Microsoft uBlock on Edge. I was having to clean my PC every couple of weeks. uBlock seems to have stopped it.
     
  8. Dave Parker

    Dave Parker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Marmaduke Ar.
    Strange. I use uBlock on Firefox and I have SNB white listed and have not had any problems. The only security I use is the security package included with Windows 10. Now and then I run a scan with Malwarebytes free and so far no issues. Fingers crossed.:)