What's new

Suricata 4 on Asuswrt-Merlin

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

M

M@rco

I started playing around with Suricata today, but I'm running into some issues. There's only very little info on the forum and loads of info on the web, which mostly seem too complicated to get started. Hopefully there are more experienced users around to get me started. I'm currently running Asuswrt-Merlin 380.69_2 on a RT-AC68U.

For starters, when installing through opkg I noticed the last two lines say
Code:
Current Suricata ruleset can be found at
https://rules.emergingthreats.net/open/suricata-3.0/emerging.rules.tar.gz

However, it appears to be Suricata 4.0.3 which is installed using Entware:
Code:
marco@RT-AC68U:/tmp/mnt/DTSE9/entware/etc/suricata# suricata -V
This is Suricata version 4.0.3 RELEASE
Am I using the right rules? I've extracted them to the pre-made folder /opt/etc/suricata/rules.

Next: I haven't changed much to suricata.yaml yet, as I'm a bit overwhelmed by all the possibilities, so this will definitely take some more reading. I changed vars: address-groups: in
Code:
    HOME_NET: "[192.168.1.0/24]"
to narrow it down to my home network.

The default locations in suricata.yaml seem all correct, these folders are created during setup. As mentioned, I extracted the (v3?) rules into the right folder.

When starting suricata using
Code:
suricata -c /opt/etc/suricata/suricata.yaml -i eth0

it outputs to the terminal:
Code:
9/2/2018 -- 22:06:19 - <Notice> - This is Suricata version 4.0.3 RELEASE
9/2/2018 -- 22:06:54 - <Warning> - [ERRCODE: SC_ERR_NO_RULES(42)] - No rule files match the pattern /opt/etc/suricata/rules/http-events.rules