What's new

CT8/AC3000 and ASUSWRT?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

TwoWheels

New Around Here
I am relatively new to the world of ASUS, having bought a set of used XT8's and a separate used ET8. The XT8's came with Gnuton firmware on them, which is how I discovered ASUS WRT.

Now I'm adding a used CT8 to my aiMesh (The ET8 is fantastically flakey and probably defective no matter what firmware I put on it.).

I realize the CT8 is EOL, but should I just run ASUS firmware 3.0.0.4.386.47399, or is there something better? As best I can tell, Gnuton does not support the CT8/AC3000. Is there another branch of ASUSWRT-MERLIN that does?

I apologize for my imperfect grasp of all this new vocabulary, but hopefully the question makes sense.

Thanks!

Dave

I am relatively new to the world of ASUS, having bought a set of used XT8's and a separate used ET8. The XT8's came with Gnuton firmware on them, which is how I discovered ASUS WRT.

Now I'm adding a used CT8 to my aiMesh (The ET8 is fantastically flakey and probably defective no matter what firmware I put on it.).

I realize the CT8 is EOL, but should I just run ASUS firmware 3.0.0.4.386.47399, or is there something better? As best I can tell, Gnuton does not support the CT8/AC3000. Is there another branch of ASUSWRT-MERLIN that does?

I apologize for my imperfect grasp of all this new vocabulary, but hopefully the question makes sense.

Thanks!

Dave
PS: I use wired backhaul ;)

Welcome to the forums @TwoWheels.

When used as a wired node, it shouldn't matter what you run (as long as AiMesh is at the same level).

Use, and reboot to use again, as necessary.

Afaik, there are no other RMerlin forks (at least, not officially).