1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Web History not working

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by hank81, Mar 4, 2018.

  1. hank81

    hank81 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain
    Hi.

    I upgraded my RT-AC68U to 384.3 recently and have just found that web history is not working. It appears blank.
    Is this happening to anyone else? Any suggestion?[​IMG]

    Sent from my XT1635-02 via Tapatalk
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. hank81

    hank81 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain
    Up!
    Upgraded to 384.4 and erased nvram. Still not working. I need some feedback please: Is it working for you or it's only me?

    Sent from my XT1635-02 via Tapatalk
     
  4. snakebite3

    snakebite3 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    261
    It partially work for me. it list all the users web history but the drop down history doesn't work.
     
    hank81 likes this.
  5. hank81

    hank81 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain
    So you can't filter web history by device?
    Wich router do you have exactly?

    Sent from my XT1635-02 via Tapatalk
     
  6. curtis_s

    curtis_s New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    384.4 t-mobile ac1900 webhistory doesn't work at all.
     
    hank81 likes this.
  7. snakebite3

    snakebite3 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    261
    rt68u
     
  8. vrapp

    vrapp Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    "Me too". This page appears to be completely broken. For me it does show web history, but events are not in chronological order; selecting one client in the dropdown box shows records from others; some of the clients shown in "All Clients" mode are not in the dropdown box......
     
  9. barzot

    barzot Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    it's sorted by url ("domain name")... go figure...
    and yes, the dropdown has lots of problems (prob. from asus' side)

    however, WebHistory.db is a sqlite database, only had one table ("history"), can be easily read (sqlite3 command line interface, sql.js, etc) and then sorted/queried as you wish
     
  10. FreshJR

    FreshJR Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    893
    I do not have that file on my router, which is probably why it's not working.

    Where is your WebHistory.db located?

    /tmp/bwdpi ?
     
  11. barzot

    barzot Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    /jffs/.sys/WebHistory/WebHistory.db

    .sys is hidden

    (ac1900p, amerlin 384.4.2)
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2018
    FreshJR likes this.
  12. FreshJR

    FreshJR Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    893
    This might get it unstuck for you guys.

    WebHistory
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/WebHistory -e
    
    AiProtectionMonitor
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/AiProtectionMonitor -e
    
    TrafficAnalyzer
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/TrafficAnalyzer -e
    
    It seems the databases don't get automatically populated until the commands above are manually ran. Yet in the interm period, the data that is supposed present in and actively populating those databases seems to actually be held at a different location as once above commands are ran the databases "backdate" themselves with historic entries.

    --

    Your directory structure should look like this

    Code:
    /jffs/.sys/TrafficAnalyzer/TrafficAnalyzer.db
    /jffs/.sys/WebHistory/WebHistory.db
    /jffs/.sys/AiProtectionMonitor/AiProtectionMonitor.db
    
    Without the databases present, the modules seem to have still been functioning silently and just not producing any logs.

    --

    To see if WebHistory is working go view it live.
    To see if AiProtection is working, the following link is a AiProtection malware test file ( IE not real malware!!)


    Both links should be blocked by Malware & Infected Device Prevention filters respectively .

    Here are the sources of the these test links.

    http://docs.trendmicro.com/all/ent/de/v1.5/en-us/de_1.5_olh/ctm_ag/ctm1_ag_ch8/t_test_eicar_file.htm


    To test AiProtection, click the links multiple times, and check your AiProtection stats at some future to see if they update.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2018
    hank81 likes this.
  13. barzot

    barzot Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    I have none of those txt files, only the db's

    my AiProtection tabs do show the occasional hits
     
    FreshJR likes this.
  14. FreshJR

    FreshJR Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    893
    Would you mind sharing the output of

    Code:
    l -R /jffs/.sys/
    
    So I can get the permissions correct
     
  15. barzot

    barzot Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Code:
    l -R /jffs/.sys/
    /jffs/.sys/:
    drw-rw-rw-    2 notrealadminname root             0 Apr  4 09:42 AiProtectionMonitor/
    drw-rw-rw-    2 notrealadminname root             0 Apr  4 10:00 TrafficAnalyzer/
    drw-rw-rw-    2 notrealadminname root             0 Apr  4 10:08 WebHistory/
    drwxrwxrwx    2 notrealadminname root             0 Apr  4 10:05 nc/
    
    /jffs/.sys/AiProtectionMonitor:
    -rw-rw-rw-    1 notrealadminname root         24576 Apr  4 09:42 AiProtectionMonitor.db
    
    /jffs/.sys/TrafficAnalyzer:
    -rw-rw-rw-    1 notrealadminname root        758784 Apr  4 10:00 TrafficAnalyzer.db
    
    /jffs/.sys/WebHistory:
    -rw-r--r--    1 notrealadminname root        387072 Apr  4 10:08 WebHistory.db
    
    /jffs/.sys/nc:
    -rw-r--r--    1 notrealadminname root         53248 Apr  4 10:05 nt_center.db
    
     
    FreshJR likes this.
  16. FreshJR

    FreshJR Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    893
    @barzot
    One last thing if you could check for me, since you have a working configuration

    Code:
    l /usr/sbin | grep "bwdpi"
    
     
  17. barzot

    barzot Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Code:
    l /usr/sbin | grep "bwdpi"
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 notrealadminname root            12 Mar 24 13:58 AiProtectionMonitor -> bwdpi_sqlite*
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 notrealadminname root            12 Mar 24 13:58 TrafficAnalyzer -> bwdpi_sqlite*
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 notrealadminname root            12 Mar 24 13:58 WebHistory -> bwdpi_sqlite*
    -r-x------    1 notrealadminname root         52752 Mar 24 13:58 bwdpi_sqlite*
     
  18. FreshJR

    FreshJR Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    893
    Just a quick update guys. I updated to ASUS latest 3.0.0.4.384_20648, and the bug still persists.

    I am about to WPS reset the nvram.

    If that doesn't work, I have no idea whats causing it to get hung up.
     
  19. SteveKnowles

    SteveKnowles New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    I first want to start off and say thank everyone for all the hard work. The firmware is amazing and I know I couldn't imagine things without it. I have followed this post since it was created as I have had the very same issues with the Web History. This has been the main reason I have stayed away from the 384 branch as I do not have these issues with 380. Looking at the Current Changelog for 380 and seeing that it is EOL, I realize that I need to switch to the current branch. These are the steps I took to upgrade and I am getting the same/similar issues as other users in this thread.

    Router: AC-3100
    Firmware: 384.4_2
    1. Upgraded Firmware from 380.69_2 to 384.4_2
    2. Cleared all Browser Cache
    3. Initialized Factory Default
    4. Enabled Web History
    My results are the same as I have had before.
    • None of the entries are in chronological order in either the All Clients window or a Specific Client Window
    • Selecting a specific client with get blank results even though there are entries for the client in All Clients.
    • Selecting a specific client will show records from other clients as well
    I have ran the commands list in the earlier post "/usr/sbin/WebHistory -e" and it did not fix these issues

    I am not sure if this helps but here are the results from the two commands that were asked to be run earlier.

    Code:
    l -R /jffs/.sys/
    /jffs/.sys/:
    drw-rw-rw-    2 admin    root             0 Apr  7 01:34 AiProtectionMonitor/
    drw-rw-rw-    2 admin    root             0 Apr  7 02:00 TrafficAnalyzer/
    drw-rw-rw-    2 admin    root             0 Apr  7 02:39 WebHistory/
    drwxrwxrwx    2 admin    root             0 Feb 13  2017 nc/
    
    /jffs/.sys/AiProtectionMonitor:
    -rw-rw-rw-    1 admin    root         10240 Apr  7 01:34 AiProtectionMonitor.db
    
    /jffs/.sys/TrafficAnalyzer:
    -rw-rw-rw-    1 admin    root        103424 Apr  7 02:00 TrafficAnalyzer.db
    
    /jffs/.sys/WebHistory:
    -rw-rw-rw-    1 admin    root         58368 Apr  7 02:39 WebHistory.db
    
    /jffs/.sys/nc:
    -rw-r--r--    1 admin    root          4096 Feb 13  2017 nt_center.db
    

    Code:
    l /usr/sbin | grep "bwdpi"
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 admin    root            12 Mar 24 14:01 AiProtectionMonitor ->bwdpi_sqlite*
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 admin    root            12 Mar 24 14:01 TrafficAnalyzer -> bwdpi_sqlite*
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 admin    root            12 Mar 24 14:01 WebHistory -> bwdpi_sqlite*
    -r-x------    1 admin    root         52752 Mar 24 14:01 bwdpi_sqlite*
    

    Thanks again for everyone's help and hard work.
     
  20. hank81

    hank81 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain
    I've put these commands in the services-start script and Web History is working now, although entries are ordered by url instead of access time as other user reported. Well, that's better than nothing. Thanks!

    Sent from my XT1635-02 via Tapatalk
     
  21. Frank Monroe

    Frank Monroe Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    I have an RT-AC5300. When I upgraded to the latest firmware, it also messed up the sorting of web history. Sorting on the domain field makes the feature pretty much useless. I have a case open with ASUS for two months now. The problem occurs with any version newer than 3.0.0.4.380_7627.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!