Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Why no HomePlug(Powerline) with PoE (802.3af/at)?

Discussion in 'MoCA, HomePlug, HPNA' started by ccl13, Sep 21, 2017.

Tags:
  1. ccl13

    ccl13 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Why there's no product that works as a Powerline Ethernet Adapter with PoE built in?

    I would think this could be a killer solution for a bunch of surveillance cameras and APs.

    One reason I could think out is price. It's understandable the price could be higher, but hopefully it would not cost so much more right? Because a PoE power adapter is ~$20 and HomePlug AV2000 pair is ~$100, and combined ~$140 for a pair is not that overpriced.
     
  2. ccl13

    ccl13 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Posted this a bit too hurry - I meant there's no high speed HomePlug, like AV1200 or AV2000. Totally missed this critical point in title. Sorry for the confusion.
     
  3. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    12,588
    HomePlug targests home users who use primarily Wi-Fi connected cameras. Not a big enough market, I'd guess. Would also increase the size of the adaper due to added heat load.
     
  4. System Error Message

    System Error Message Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    3,521
    other than what @thiggins mentioned, POE increases cost as there are various standards and wattages. Just compare a 250W POE capable switch vs the same switch without POE and the price difference is big. For 3 ports perhaps 60W of POE and thats still significant in size and cost of the power adapter itself. The powerline itself despite having passthrough operates on DC voltage, it has a PSU inside of it.
     
  5. Samir

    Samir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    HSV
    Most of the time, there's a lot of cameras required, so you'll need a switch no matter what. And a POE switch is a slight cost increase vs a powerline POE adapter with multiple ports. Probably why it doesn't exist--not enough demand. Plus, you can always get a POE injector if you want for pretty cheap.
     

Share This Page