What's new

wireless n card for desktop

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

bigperm

New Around Here
Hi guys, bare with me...somewhat of a beginner here.

Got a new PC...motherboard MSI MS-7613. It has 1 PCI Express x16, 3 PCI Express x1, and 1 PCI Express x1 minicard slots.

The N routers are a bit expensive in my eyes right now. Ultimately I would like to go simulataneous dual-band, but for now, I'm going to stick with my g router and pick up an N card. Later on, when N router prices come down, I'll just swap my router and not worry about getting a new card at that time.

For the N card, I'd want dual band support and 3 antennae. I saw the Intel 5300, but to be honest, I have no idea how these mini-cards work. Would this card fit into my PCI-e minicard slot? Can you even install this card in a desktop...I only see people talking about them with laptops? For the life of me, I've been unable to find a basic PCI-e wireless N card with 3 antenna and dual band support. Even USB don't have 3 antennae, right?

If I can install the 5300, how would I install the antennae? I'd imagine there's no antennae already in the desktop like there is in a laptop, so I'd have to buy some right? Which antenna is the best to buy for something like this, and how do you attach it? Is soldering required? Not really interested in that much effort. Also, do you have to run the antenna out of the back of the desktop? Where is the exit out of the desktop to do that?

Any help, specific instructions, and links (for instance, to buy antenna) you could provide would be great. If you have a suggestion other than the 5300, that would be great too. PCI-e would be the most ideal but like I said, I just haven't found what I'm looking for in that.