What's new

ac88u unexplained weirdness experienced

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

ronald francey

Occasional Visitor
newbie here. i recently purchased a new ac88u which has yet to be set up correctly. part of that is my fault as i have it connected to a zoom 5350 cable modem which is still set up as a combo modem/router. even though i have read instructions online on how to set up the 5350 in bridge mode and have tried this unsuccessfully several times, a call to zoom ts responded with a statement that bridge mode does not work on the 5350.

out of the box, the ac88u had both wifi leds lit and the ac88u was reachable from my android smart phone. during one of my trials with the router, i tried smart connect and shortly after that the 5GHz led went out and the unit was no longer reachable on my android smartphone via the asus web utility. it no longer saw the ssid of the router.

after hours and hours of being in contact with asus ts, getting a .tsr file emailed to me and then my finding out how to use rescue and downloading the newest fw, i am connected, kind of, but the 5GHz led is still off and 5GHz was unreachable.

then, due to comments w/i this forum, i turned off mimo and airtime fairness and low and behold, my mobile saw the 2.4 ssid and connected.

i mentioned that i am sort of connected. the wan address is local not translated probably due to conflicts with the 5350 zoom. (i purchases a motorola cable modem, attached it and got proper translation; however, my amazon stick stopped working with this configuration so i went back to the zoom.)

also, the 5Ghz ssid has never been visible on the ssid list. also, a lan connection to my lt shows an earlier version of a 2.4 ssid even though i have done hard resets. ughh!