1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Aquantia AQC10x firmware update

Discussion in 'Switches, NICs and cabling' started by TheLostSwede, Jun 2, 2019.

  1. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Nope, not seeing this. Windows machine? Try resetting the network settings/running the network repair thing, as sometimes Windows networking just breaks, for no apparent reason.
     
  2. DonCatoli

    DonCatoli Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    TanyaC and L&LD like this.
  3. MikeMike

    MikeMike New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Marvell dropped new firmware for their Aquantia cards:
    https://www.marvell.com/content/dam/marvell/en/drivers/MarvellFlashUpdate_1.5.0_3.1.109.zip

    I read somewhere earlier in the thread that someone wanted to update their ASUS XG-C100C and the standard Aquantia firmware updater wasn't working. I also have this card (along with a variety of other Aquantia cards). The ASUS card runs the Aquantia AQC107 firmware just fine. When you run atlflashupdate, it'll detect the ASUS card as an Aquantia card but claim that it cannot update it. If you edit the updatedata.xml file that comes with the Marvell firmware and add a line that matches the info displayed for your card (when you ran atlflashupdate), it'll update the firmware.

    The original stanza in updatedata.xml:
    Code:
    <bdp id="1">
        <hwids>
          <pciid vid="1d6a" did="d107" sdid="d107" svid="1849" />
          <pciid vid="1d6a" did="07b1" sdid="d107" svid="1849" />
          <pciid vid="1d6a" did="d108" sdid="d108" svid="1849" />
          <pciid vid="1d6a" did="08b1" sdid="d108" svid="1849" />
        </hwids>
        <mac>02010000c0000000060000000000000001000000c00000000e00000021000000ffff0000c00000000b000000000000000800000000000000</mac>
        <phy>030184011cc471adffff1dc471adffff1ec40100ffff0000</phy>
        <image>AQC107.clx</image>
      </bdp>
    
    The stanza after editing it so that it will update the ASUS XG-C100C:
    Code:
      <bdp id="1">
        <hwids>
          <pciid vid="1d6a" did="d107" sdid="d107" svid="1849" />
          <pciid vid="1d6a" did="d107" sdid="8741" svid="1043" />
          <pciid vid="1d6a" did="07b1" sdid="d107" svid="1849" />
          <pciid vid="1d6a" did="d108" sdid="d108" svid="1849" />
          <pciid vid="1d6a" did="08b1" sdid="d108" svid="1849" />
        </hwids>
        <mac>02010000c0000000060000000000000001000000c00000000e00000021000000ffff0000c00000000b000000000000000800000000000000</mac>
        <phy>030184011cc471adffff1dc471adffff1ec40100ffff0000</phy>
        <image>AQC107.clx</image>
      </bdp>
    
    I'm running Linux but here you can see the ASUS card running with 3.1.109 firmware:
    Code:
    $ sudo ethtool -i enp5s0
    driver: atlantic
    version: 5.5.13-200.fc31.x86_64-kern
    firmware-version: 3.1.109
    $ lspci -v -s 0000:05:00.0|head -2
    05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Aquantia Corp. AQC107 NBase-T/IEEE 802.3bz Ethernet Controller [AQtion] (rev 02)
            Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. XG-C100C
    
    Code:
    $ iperf -c freenas
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    Client connecting to freenas, TCP port 5001
    TCP window size:  680 KByte (default)
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    [  3] local 10.0.0.10 port 51818 connected with 10.0.0.51 port 5001
    [ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
    [  3]  0.0-10.0 sec  10.7 GBytes  9.23 Gbits/sec
    
     
    Bob.Dig and yikyi like this.
  4. TanyaC

    TanyaC Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Australia
    That was me. The card was in a Windows 2012 R2 server at the time. The server has since been upgraded to 2019.
     
  5. yikyi

    yikyi Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Worked for me flawlessly. You sir deserve an order! How did you know that?
    Thank you very much!
     
  6. MikeMike

    MikeMike New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    The atlflashupdate tool actually gives you the info you need when it displays the NIC (that it then refuses to update). It compares what it finds against the packaged .xml file and if it finds a match, it will update the firmware. If you take the string of 16 hex characters that atlflashupdate displays and break it apart and plug it into the appropriate place in the xml file (in this case, the AQC107.clx firmware section), it will update the device. I imagine the same steps would work for anyone with the Gigabyte version of this card (GC-AQC107), though they would almost certainly have different hex values.

    Update: It's 12 hex characters, not 16. In the format Rashed points out here: https://www.rashedtalukder.com/updating-asus-xg-c100cs-aquantia-aqc107-firmware-and-drivers/

    Since the card lives in one of my Linux hosts, I didn't get a screenshot when I flashed it. Fortunately, Rashed did so now you know what values to plug in. :)
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2020
    Bob.Dig and yikyi like this.
  7. Bob.Dig

    Bob.Dig Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Germany
    @MikeMike Thanks Mike, worked flawlessly.
     
  8. DoctorX

    DoctorX New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    It still can keep the original Mac Address if I use this way to Flash Aquantia AQtion firmware right? I used Diag to flash the ASUS XG-C100C then the Mac Address is 00-17-b6-00-00-00 and the manufacturer isn’t ASUS anymore. so I return ASUS XG-C100C back to ASUS hope they can fix it and I want to know if I get a new one and I want to flash the Firmware,Is it safe to use this way? thank you so much
     
  9. MikeMike

    MikeMike New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    It does not change the MAC address of your card. I have updated the firmware on my XG-C100C four or five times and it still has the same MAC as the label on the box it came in.

    If you want to be 100% safe (because you are within your warranty period and you don't have some critical issue), you should be on whatever firmware ASUS has blessed. There is always risk in doing something the vendor hasn't themselves recommended. That risk may be bricking your card, voiding your warranty, or both. The risk, for me, was low. My card was out of the return period, out of warranty, ASUS was (is) multiple revisions behind on firmware updates, and its firmware had some quirks fixed by Aquantia, so the gain was worth the risk.
     
  10. DoctorX

    DoctorX New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you so much!! it works for my ASUS XG-C100C, I got a new one from the seller and Flash the firmware to 3.1.109 successfully in this way and it preserved MAC and vendor, . It seems if we use Diag to upgrade the firmware then it will become a reference design Aquantia AQC107