What's new

Connect two networks where one is behind NAT

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

tnek

New Around Here
Hi!

I would like to connect my home and my office somehow.

• At my office I have an Asus RT-AC86U and at home an Asus TUF-AX5400, both use Asus Merlin.
  • At my office I'm behind NAT and at home I have a public, but sometimes changing, IP.
My thoughts so far:
  • To solve the changing IP at home I can use the DDNS functionality in the router so that my office location can connect to home.asuscomm.com.
  • Use some kind of SSH tunnel from a computer at my office which connects to my home. It should be able to recover when the home IP changes / connection goes down.

I'm pretty new to that "advanced" (to me) usage of SSH. It would be nicer if I didn't have to involve a computer in the setup, if just the two routers could keep the connection going. Maybe I want to use OpenVPN instead? Or some other method?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Most importantly, do YOU own this business/office, or is this your employer? Because punching holes in their firewall for such purposes is typically grounds for dismissal. Not unless you've got prior permission.

That aside, in principle, either SSH or OpenVPN can create tunnels, although the former offers reverse port forwarding for remote access to specific services, whereas the latter allows general network access at the IP level, so you can seamlessly communicate w/ anything of your choosing (although you can always use the firewall to filter/limit that access).