What's new

help in selecting wifi router

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Newmarket2

New Around Here
I'm tech savvy but weak on networking. I currently have a DLink WBR 2310 and want to get an N.
Range is my major issue. In my home, I can only get to 3 of 7 locations I would like to use. I'm guessing that ANY N router would do a lot better, but as long as I'm here, there are some other locations (a terrace outside the kitchen) where it would be great to get a signal.
My place is isolated, so there are no security concerns of fighting with other wireless networks.

My wife has an office about 200 ft from the cable modem and the router location - connected by CAT5. We get a great broadband connection using any of our PCs. I just don't want to lose that.

I also am thinking about adding an NAS because my wife and I work together on photographs and slideshows, but wifi range is a clearer need.

My budget is up to around $150.

I'm currently looking at the Linksys E3000, and the D-Link DIR 655 and DIR 628.

2 QUESTIONS:
1. which of the 3 would you recommend? and why? and, if it's the E3000, why should I spend $150 instead of $90?
2. is there another router you would recommend ahead of one of these 3.

!! Thanks for the help!! I'm dying here.....
Michael

Go with E3000

Go with E3000

well, based largely on the performance measures on SNB, and the fact it was on sale and I could get it IMMEDIATELY at a local Staples, I purchased a Netgear WNBR3700.

The proof will be in the pudding - do I get the throughput from the locations that are important to me.

But, do you think I made a mistake?