What's new

How long will be firmware updates available for RT-AX88U (Pro)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Oberhallodri

New Around Here
I have been using an ASUS RT-AC87U in my home for about 9 years. Now the time has come to replace it with a new router. The router is to be given a new life in the hobby room as an access point.

I think the RT-AX88U Pro would be a worthy successor to the RT-AC87U. Unfortunately, the router is already a bit outdated. The AX88U has been on sale for about 5 years. How long can I expect firmware updates for this router?

The last update for the AC87U was 7 years after its release (3.0.0.4.382.52545, 2021/05/18). Should I expect that there will only be updates for the AX88U for approx. 2 years?

I have been using an ASUS RT-AC87U in my home for about 9 years. Now the time has come to replace it with a new router. The router is to be given a new life in the hobby room as an access point.

I think the RT-AX88U Pro would be a worthy successor to the RT-AC87U. Unfortunately, the router is already a bit outdated. The AX88U has been on sale for about 5 years. How long can I expect firmware updates for this router?

The last update for the AC87U was 7 years after its release (3.0.0.4.382.52545, 2021/05/18). Should I expect that there will only be updates for the AX88U for approx. 2 years?

ASUS has historically offered firmware updates beyond expectation... I would proceed with buying a Pro model of your choice and hope for the best support going forward... next gen ASUSWRT 3.0.0.6.* firmware requires a Pro model at this time.

OE

Nope. The AX88U Pro was released in 2023