What's new

NSF table won't save

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

loboy23

New Around Here
Hi all! Noob here. Hoping someone can help diagnose this problem. Currently running a RT-AC86U on stock 386.51529, in router mode behind a cable modem that bridged. I want to close port 445, as described here, but it won't save for whatever reason. I put in the port number '445' in the destination port range, hit the "+", click Apply, the screen shows "Applying settings". When the screen refreshes, there's still "no data in table." In fact, I tried other ports, like 21, 22, with same result. Multiple tries, same result. Log does indicate the firewall restarted with the message "rc_service: httpd 25375:notify_rc restart_firewall", every time I did this.

I first tried the usual cold boot, then restore with "initialize all settings" checked, and finally bit the bullet and did a hard factory reset (method 2). None of which made any difference. My other option would be to redo the firmware again, but curious if anyone else is experiencing this issue. I'd swear it was working before.

Thanks.

Unless you have a port specifically open or UPnP enabled you are OK. Also do not enable access to the router from the web. Use a VPN server on the router if you need to manage it from the web. Instantguard works well and is easy to set up.

Currently running a RT-AC86U on stock 386.51529, in router mode behind a cable modem that bridged. I want to close port 445, as described here, but it won't save for whatever reason.
The Network Services Filter not saving is a known issue in a few of the recent Asus firmware versions. Been discussed recently in a few other posts/threads: