1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Password failed after restoration ASUS RT-AC86U

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by exosteph, Nov 17, 2019.

  1. exosteph

    exosteph New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Hello,
    I have an ASUS RT-AC86U with Merlin firmware 384.13.
    I have restore an old save but when i try to connect, password is different as my used password.

    Do you know if merlin firmware change password when we use restore ?

    Thank's
    Stephane
     
  2. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,713
    You should configure manually from scratch!
    Dont use saved config from different firmware (or router).
     
    a5m likes this.
  3. exosteph

    exosteph New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    this is the same router that i make save
     
  4. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,713
    I would say time for clean start with factory reset and initialize.
     
  5. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,692
    Location:
    USA
    You can try the default credentials, admin, admin. If you can not login for whatever reason, you will have to reset and start over from scratch. I would also perform a webUI reset with initialize while you are at it, to clear logged data.

    OE
     
    a5m likes this.
  6. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31,563
    Location:
    Canada
    If your backup was made with an older version, then there is no guarantee that it will be compatible. Some models/versions now encrypt the password.