1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Problem loading 384.9 on an RT-AC68U

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by mstrel, Feb 10, 2019.

Tags:
  1. mstrel

    mstrel New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    I'm currently running ASUSWRT-Merlin 384.8_2 and I'm attempting to upload 384.9. I've done this many, many times and never had a problem (been running Asuswrt-Merlin since 378.52_0).
    ASUS FW upload screen shot.PNG

    As soon as I click the "Upload" button, I almost immediately get a progress dialog box that says: 394.9_0 upload attempt.PNG
    "Firmware upgrade unsuccessful. This may result from
    incorrect image or error transmission. Please check the
    version of firmware and try again."

    The file I'm attempting to upload is: RT-AC68U_384.9_0.trx
    I tried downloading it from the Main site twice and also from the Mirror site, all with the same result.

    Has anyone else had issues with the file?
    Any suggestions?
     
  2. digixmax

    digixmax Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    I downloaded and successfully used just yesterday the .trx content of the RT-AC68U_384.9_0.zip file to upgrade my RT-68P from Asus official FW.

    Did you try validating the SHA256 key of the .trx file?
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
  3. mstrel

    mstrel New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    How do you validate the SHA256 key?
     
  4. digixmax

    digixmax Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    You'd need to use a SHA256 checksum utility, there are freeware offline and online versions to be found on the net.
     
    mstrel likes this.
  5. dave14305

    dave14305 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    496
    If you are on Windows, you can run a built-in PowerShell command:
    Code:
    Get-FileHash .\<Filename.trx>
     
    digixmax and mstrel like this.
  6. mstrel

    mstrel New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    8
  7. dave14305

    dave14305 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    496
    Try a reboot before uploading the new file.
     
    adampk17 likes this.
  8. mstrel

    mstrel New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    I did a reboot via turning off the power switch AND by unplugging the power for ~1 minute. Still get the same result. (trying to avoid a factory reset)
     
  9. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,014
    Location:
    UK
    And remove any USB devices that you might have plugged into it.

    Is your router an Asus branded one, or a rebranded TM version?
     
    dave14305 likes this.
  10. dave14305

    dave14305 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    496
    How much free memory on the Tools page?
     
  11. mstrel

    mstrel New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Free Memory: 126 MB of 250 MB
    It is NOT a TM branded one it is a pure Asus RT-AC68U.
    and I don't have any USB devices connected.
     
  12. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,014
    Location:
    UK
    Try a different browser or computer. Maybe you've got a browser plugin or anti-virus that is messing with the upload.

    EDIT: Ha! Dave beat me to it.:)
     
    dave14305 likes this.
  13. dave14305

    dave14305 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    496
    I deleted my post in deference to your superior router-fu!
     
  14. mstrel

    mstrel New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Good suggestion, I was using Edge...now trying Chrome, and...same result (ugh). I'll try my MacBook next.
     
  15. digixmax

    digixmax Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Are you uploading over WiFi?
     
  16. mstrel

    mstrel New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Windows 10 computer is hardwired. MacBook (will be) via wifi.
     
  17. Ronald Schwerer

    Ronald Schwerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    297
    Try running it from the command line after transferring the trx file to the router:
    mtd-write2 RT-AC68U_384.9_0.trx linux
     
    dave14305 likes this.
  18. mstrel

    mstrel New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Success (via MacBook)!

    Now I wonder what my problem was...Windows 10, fully updated, running Vipre anti virus. Never had this problem before. Oh well, I'll see what happens with the next upgrade.

    Thanks for all your help guys!
     
    dave14305 likes this.