What's new

Entware Problem mounting opt / installing entware

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Simpistic

Occasional Visitor
So I have an AX3000-v2 (didn't know I wanted Merlin/Entware until I got it) and I am trying to install Entware on it..
I followed the official guide but I can't seem to get the script to mount the UDB drive (formatted to NTFS) on boot.

when I create the mount manually I do manage to install Entware though it seems to override the contents of the opt folder with the content of the USB drive (was only able to do it with bind)
Code:
mkdir /tmp/opt
mount /dev/sda2 /tmp/opt
mount --bind /tmp/opt /opt

Would overriding the opt folder cause problems in the future ?

I am kinda new to this stuff, have a bit of experience with linux but I am by no means and expert, would really appreciate the help on the matter.

So I have an AX3000-v2 (didn't know I wanted Merlin/Entware until I got it) and I am trying to install Entware on it..
Merlin doesn't make firmware for the V2 only the V1.

I followed the official guide but I can't seem to get the script to mount the USB drive (formatted to NTFS) on boot.

when I create the mount manually I do manage to install Entware though it seems to override the contents of the opt folder with the content of the USB drive (was only able to do it with bind)
Code:
mkdir /tmp/opt
mount /dev/sda2 /tmp/opt
mount --bind /tmp/opt /opt

Would overriding the opt folder cause problems in the future ?
The original /opt directory is normally empty so this does not cause a problem.

However, I believe the script_usbmount function is no longer supported so it will not automatically mount /opt any more.

The original /opt directory is normally empty so this does not cause a problem.