What's new

AiMesh in AP only mode Wireless SSD drops Internet AC5300 AC68U

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

K-teach

Occasional Visitor
I have been using my GT-AC5300 as a hone router for two years. Great product. Then I wanted some tech fun, so I spun up a pfsense router and turned the AC5300 into AP only. Worked great for one month. Then I picked up an AC68U amd added it to the aimesh as an AP node upstairs to improve coverage . Linked through Ethernet. Worked great for a week.

Now I have the problem that devices connected to either 5Ghz or 2Ghz wifi will lose the ability to reach the Internet. Wired clients continue to work, even through the AC5300. If I reboot the AC5300, either through software or hardware, all will work again. Also, if I go to one of the wifi setting screens and cleck "apply", but no actual changes, devices will regain Internet connection.

Both devices are on the latest firmware. Any tips to try? Is it possible to run these in an aimesh but only in AP mode? It seems to work, and benchmarking the connection shows excellent throughput with either node, when working.

Thanks for any thoughts.

Personally, I don't see much advantage to running two APs in AiMesh mode rather than as standalone APs. Sure you get the ability to manage both APs from one interface but at the expense of an added layer of software/networking complexity. I'd prefer to keep things simple and stick to having them as separate APs and manage them individually.