1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Another Cheap Moca 2.0 non-bonded adapter

Discussion in 'MoCA, HomePlug, HPNA' started by Samir, Jul 26, 2019.

  1. Samir

    Samir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    HSV
    Just saw these and never heard of them before. They are similar to the g1100 units I have that have a non-bonded moca 2.0 that I hit 500Mbps with between two units connected together. The good thing about these things is that they are CHEAP at $28 shipped:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Arris-Fron...riorityMailPaddedFlatRateEnvelope!35613!US!-1

    You can even find them for a bit less, and price seems to be coming down:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Frontier-F...496816&hash=item5b588b9c68:g:z5MAAOSwEJZdHNm1

    Why do these present a good value? Well, they're more than just a moca adapter. They're a 4 port switch, an AC access point, and I think even the usb port can be used for storage.

    So you can use a pair of these to have improved wifi, more wired devices, and a moca network all at once in one device. :)
     
    krkaufman likes this.
  2. krkaufman

    krkaufman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    278
    Ok, another FiOS router that can be repurposed as a MoCA adapter+. Thanks for the heads-up.

    Makes sense to consider these over the WCB3000N, except where cost is strictly the driver.
     
  3. Samir

    Samir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    HSV
    Oh for the small increase in cost, these definitely make more sense than the WCB3000N since it's 2.0 vs 1.0. Even when not bonded 2.0, speeds far exceed 1.0 speeds. :)
     
  4. krkaufman

    krkaufman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    278
    Entirely subjective, weighted by each individual, thus the “strictly the driver” caveat. (note: The WCB3000N is MoCA 1.1 w/ 2 GigE ports, and capable of up to 150 Mbps, for just $17. Been as low as $10.)

    From what I can tell, one difference between these and other FiOS gateways is that these must not be capable of a built-in MoCA WAN connection (via MoCA Band C), as the install info seems to require a separate MEB1100 MoCA adapter for MoCA WAN installs.
     
  5. Samir

    Samir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    HSV
    Yep, and for $10 more, I think these present a pretty nice value being able to hit almost 500Mbs. :)

    Awesome research! It's details like this that helps one figure out the best device for the task at hand. :)
     
  6. krkaufman

    krkaufman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    278
    NVG468MQ ... specs, eBay search
    • Concurrent Wi-Fi support for 802.11b/g/n and 802.11ac
    • Four-port 10/100/1000 Ethernet switch, RJ-45
    • MoCA 2.0 Profile B
    • USB 3.0 network interface
    upload_2019-8-4_14-2-33.png
     
  7. yazyazoo

    yazyazoo Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    15

    So does this need the MEB1100 MOCA adapter at each unit? I currently have a old Netgear MCA1001 MOCA v1.1 in three rooms currently. I would like to have the extra gigabit ports instead of a switch at each unit and replace it with this. It would clean up a lot of clutter.
     
  8. Samir

    Samir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    HSV
    I think these would definitely clean that up and increase the speeds to boot as they are moca 2.0. :)
     
  9. yazyazoo

    yazyazoo Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    15

    So my Netgear MCA1001 have a COAX in from the modem and COAX out to TV. This doesn't have it. Will this be able to do it?

    I want to buy 3 of those listed but can't see how to do it.
     
  10. degrub

    degrub Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,066
    you would have to use a splitter ahead of the unit (and take the 3.5 dB signal loss from the connection. Maybe not an issue for MOCA, but possible for OTA TV signal.
     
  11. Samir

    Samir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    HSV
    Yep, like he said. :D

    How many of the locations have TV? Would all of them need a splitter?
     
  12. krkaufman

    krkaufman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    278
    No, the MEB1100 is *only* for making a coax MoCA WAN connection with the ONT, if necessary, via MoCA Band C, channel C4 (rather than an Ethernet WAN connection). For whatever reason, the NVG468MQ only supports the MoCA LAN function, unlike the earlier MI424-WR and G1100 routers.

    So, yes, if the NVG468MQ can be down-configured to just a MoCA adapter, then it would very much be an improvement on a MoCA 1.1 adapter and network switch. (The NVG468MQ is standard MoCA 2.0 with GigE ports, so up to 400 Mbps throughput, rather than the 100 Mbps max of an MCA1001 link.)
     
  13. krkaufman

    krkaufman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    278
    Are you running OTA antenna signals or cable TV on the same coax as your MoCA network?

    IF you're running OTA antenna signals to your TV, then you can improve on the splitter suggestion from @degrub...
    ... and save 2.5+ dB by using an antenna/satellite diplexer, rather than a 2-way splitter, to intelligently direct the OTA signals to the TV and the MoCA signals to the MoCA adapter. (Basically using an external diplexer where MoCA adapters with pass-through ports use an internal diplexer.)

    Holland DPD2 diplexer specs (PDF)
    dpd2.jpeg
    DPD2 diplexer pass-band frequencies:
    UHF/VHF: 40-806 MHz
    SAT: 950-2150 MHz
    IN/OUT: 40-2150 MHz

    Noting... MoCA 2.0 extended Band D range is 1125-1675 MHz, within the diplexer "SAT" port pass-band.​


    p.s. Can't similarly use a diplexer for a cable TV setup since the diplexer’s UHF/VHF pass-band may be narrower than the frequency range used by a given cable provider, and the provider can alter frequencies at any time. (And I've not seen a cable/MoCA diplexer available via retail.)
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2019
  14. krkaufman

    krkaufman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    278
    Has anyone seen instructions for configuring the NVG468MQ as a simple MoCA adapter — with optional wireless access point?
     
  15. Samir

    Samir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    HSV
    I haven't seen any instructions, but I'm thinking it would be similar to the g1100's that I have since they were also frontier branded.

    It's kind of a convoluted interface, but once you get the hang of it, you can find where the dhcp server is (to shut that off), and where the moca can be enabled/disabled. Also, in my frontier unit, there's a table that shows all the moca units on the moca network and the speeds negotiated between them. Mine were at 620Mbps or 630Mbps and iperf tested just shy of 500Mbps. I would expect this NVG unit to be similar in setup and performance since it's for the same isp.
     
    krkaufman likes this.
  16. KrisH

    KrisH New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Well, I just ordered two of these to replace 2 of my 4 Actiontec MI824WR units and go along with the MoCA 2.0 built-in the Xfinity Gateway. (I would have preferred to get the GoCoax MoCA 2.5 units, but they have not been in stock for a few months and I have not heard when they will be in stock.

    After ordering these I went back through this thread and realized nobody has actually explicitly stated they were able to get into the GUI and set these up...I think they have from what is implied...so if anyone can confirm and perhaps share any potholes or pitfalls to avoid?

    Hoping that this will cut back on some of the buffering when attempting to stream from my Plex Media Server to internal network connected TVs, Roku and Apple TVs...
     
  17. Samir

    Samir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    HSV
    I don't have any experience with them, but a quick search yielded this so there should be access to the gui:
    https://setuprouter.com/router/arris/nvg468mq/login.htm
     
    KrisH likes this.
  18. Fyodor

    Fyodor Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    I'd be interested in hearing if this works for you. The main steps would be.

    1. Disable uplink, broadband connection.
    2. Disable DHCP.
    3. Give it a fixed local IP address on your main router's subnet that's not in use.

    If you can do 2 and 3 in one step it'll make things easier, since once your connection to it will get screwed up once those go through.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
  19. Fyodor

    Fyodor Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    63
  20. Samir

    Samir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    HSV
    I agree. :)