What's new

Asus RT-N66U on Merlin 378.54_2 slow speeds

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

alarsen77

Regular Contributor
Hi,

I have an Assus RT-N66U running merlin 378.54_2 and I have a Motorola Surfboard 6183 hooked up to RCN's 155/15 connection. When I connect directly to the modem I get speeds anywhere from 178-200+ but once I hook the modem to the router and connect using ethernet on the router I am getting speeds of 95-115. I don't know where I am losing close to 100mbps in my router. I don't know a whole lot about networking so I am kind of new to this whole thing. I am trying to figure out what I can do to get my router to perform up to par with my internet connection? I have read stuff about QoS I haven't had a chance to check that as I am at work now and won't be home until 9:30 tonight. But if there is any insight as to what I can look into to get my internet speeds to be closer to what they are straight out of my modem that would be great. I should also mention that I have been having some issues with devices saying no internet connection and having to be disconnected and reconnected to wireless for them to work. All of this has seemed to have been getting worse since I updated to the 378.54_2 prior to that I was on a build from 2012 when I first got the router.

Sorry for the rant and I am sorry if there was a thread similar to this but I didn't see anything like it when I searched.

Any suggestions?
Power off both your modem and router for about a 1/2 hour. Power on the modem and let it sync, then power up the router. In may cases, your ISP connection needs to be reset whenever you add or change a modem or router.