What's new

Buying advice ASUS RT-AX86U, RT-AX88U or RT-AXE7800

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

bashman275

New Around Here
Hey, first post so this may have been discussed or not in the right place.

I had an RT-AX86U but it wouldn't turn on and the seller has no more in stock.
Having looked around I've found 3 routers and I now can't decide which is best as I'm new to using a custom router compared to the ISP default.

Do I:
Buy RT-AX86U again
or
Buy either RT-AX88U or RT-AXE7800.

It will be used as the main router as I have the ASUS RP-AX56 for the AI Mesh.

I had no issues with the AX86U but as all 3 are similarly priced thought I'd ask so I was getting the best for my money.

If it fails to turn on, see if you could find a laptop AC adapter with the same voltage and connector to test, there's a good chance that this is the issue. Would be far less expensive than a new router.

If it fails to turn on, see if you could find a laptop AC adapter with the same voltage and connector to test, there's a good chance that this is the issue. Would be far less expensive than a new router.
I've already returned and had the refund. Never thought of that...

Get an RT-AX86U Pro now with updated newer hardware. :)

The 'pro' isn't worth that moniker. Either spend a little more if needed or wait for a sale and get the much better balanced (hardware) GT-AX6000 instead.

The 'pro' isn't worth that moniker. Either spend a little more if needed or wait for a sale and get the much better balanced (hardware) GT-AX6000 instead.
So if money wasn't an option - you'd go for the GT-AX6000 over the 3 I mentioned?

Looking at the GT-AX6000 - I assume I can get 2.5 in 2.5 out?