1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

help trouble shooting 3100

Discussion in 'ASUS AX Routers & Adapters' started by cino72, Nov 8, 2019.

  1. cino72

    cino72 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    I have the Asus gt-ax11000 (primary) and a 3100 in a mesh setup. I use ethernet back haul and i think power went out today regardless node was offline. steps i have taken never know if its enough info or not
    so..
    wan is red
    hold reset for mesh setup notice red light on wan still
    use restoration tool to the latest asus firmware gui looks ok log looks ok still have red light
    hold reset and search for node again it finds but cant add it
    hold reset again
    boots but red wan again
    start node search it finds it i think it rebooted i only see power light then few seconds later i see wifi lights on keep watching power light flashes 3 times it adds node successfully but then i think it rebooted only power light on and node is offline few seconds later pwr wifi and wan(red) on AX11000 shows node off line
    I hit power button to turn 3100 off then power back on
    it comes back up wan is red still
    i went ahead and connected the back haul to wan port but still red i happen to notice on the AX aimesh Node: is changing from 1 to 0 but node is still offline
    im not sure what to look for or try from this point

    this router may have had tomato on it at one time but has been running latest stock firmware for few months

    **this maybe relevant when it reboots in the middle of mesh set up about 50% it comes back with wan white and stays white then maybe 80% it reboots again wan comes back white wifi lights come on white then wan goes red and stays

    just realized this post prob needs moved
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2019
  2. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,584
    reset everything (both routers) to factory defaults and try again (dont upload saved config files).
     
  3. cino72

    cino72 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks that fixed it I was really trying not to reset the primary i have more than i like port trigger and forward setup that i was trying to not have to redo.
    how bad would it be if i exported the current working cfg and added back some statics ip's and port configs into it then imported that back to the router
     
  4. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,584
    you can try with safed working config on master router, but if it doesnt solve your issues there wont be another way than reset to defaults and do it manually again.
    Nodes can easily be reset and joined again, so they are not the problem.