What's new

Need advice for a concrete apartment

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

kirik

New Around Here
Hello all,

Apologies for the longwinded first post, but the problem I'm facing has stumped me. I am in need of some purchasing advice since I have little experience (I have a single wireless router at home) with networking. My brother is currently working overseas and is living in a concrete apartment. He is having trouble with getting his network up and running.

Currently he has 2 problems:

1) He would like the entire connection to be using his HMA VPN. He would like to run DDWRT to help with this part. His connection is 10 down and 1 up.

2) Because all the walls are concrete, and the apartment is rented, he is unwilling to make any changes that may cause damage to the walls. Also, his family has 3 cats and there is concern that they would become fascinated by dangling wires.

What he would like to do is for me to purchase hardware from Canada (since he'll be returning in a few years and want to be able to use the hardware then) and he'll pick up the items when he visits. He wants to spend as little as possible, but is willing to pay for hardware.

Apartment Layout:

His apartment is laid out as shown in the image. The modem and current router that he is using should be located near the "D" in Dining. The values are wireless signal strength (in dBm) as recorded on his phone using wifi analyzer.

He wants to use a repeater in the room with -89dBm signal so that devices in the room with -92 can get wifi access as well.

UdKcL90.jpg

Solutions I am considering: