What's new

QoS Adaptive, confused what to select for WAN packet overhead?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Netbug

Regular Contributor
Hey

I setup my new RT-AC86U (previously used rt-68u), i got a media streaming box running over router vpn client 1, i've never used QoS before but know of some of it's problems, i don't want any complexity i just want to ensure i give priority to the streaming media box. Will it even work seeing vpn traffic is encrypted so won't know it's streaming?

First i went to Adaptive QoS > Bandwidth Monitor and dragged 'Highest' priority onto media box. Next went to Adaptive QoS > QoS. Where it says 'WAN packet overhead' I got the following options, i am on fibre connection and my isp does not require username/password (all automatic), what option do i choose? very confused.

I looked at this link from merlin https://github.com/RMerl/asuswrt-merlin/wiki/QoS-Queue-Disciplines and choose fq_codel as it seems to be the one recommended i think from the above link. But don't understand the 'WAN packet overhead' option.

Cheers.

(DOCSIS, VDSL or ADSL2), or leave it to 0.

leave it to 0.

Maybe?

Last edited:
@RMerlin

Not related to his question, but looks like an HTML error on that page ('</option' in the next to last selection in the pulldown)

(DOCSIS, VDSL or ADSL2), or leave it to 0.

leave it to 0.

No?

I have a VDSL2 (fibre) connection. what i mean is those in the drop down menu. I still thought you had to choose something from the dropdown menu, no? still confused by the options. Not even sure it will work? as it run via vpn client 1 on router?

@RMerlin

Not related to his question, but looks like an HTML error on that page ('</option' in the next to last selection in the pulldown)