1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC86U and Chromecast

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Valsoray, Feb 17, 2020.

  1. Valsoray

    Valsoray New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, I'm going to bring back the old "Asus with Chromecast" issue. So I've got the Asus RT-AC86U (aka AC2900) and noticed Chromecast devices disappear from mobile apps after some period of time.

    I did disable the Airtime Fairness for both of the bands, but looks like it didn't help much. The only thing helps it's to reboot the router. After that all the Chromecast devices become visible again and can be reached with any mobile app. However after some time (maybe half a day) the devices disappear again. Is there any other setting I'm missing maybe? The firmware version is 3.0.0.4.384_81351-gcb63868.

    One more thing I've noticed. One of the devices is located further away from the router and it usually connects to 2.4Hz band. This device stays visible after all 5Hz devices disappear, but eventually it drops off as well. Maybe it will help.

    Will appreciate any help as I really like the router, but I don't want to restart it everytime I want to cast anything to my TV.

    Thanks!
     
  2. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    USA
    Are you using the same SSID for both bands? Smart Connect? Auto channels? Have you tried using separate SSIDs, no Smart Connect, and fixed channels?

    I also wonder about disabling Universal Beamforming with older Chromecast devices.

    OE
     
  3. Valsoray

    Valsoray New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Yes, the SSID is the same for both bands. Smart connect has only one option available (dual band).

    I did try fixed channels with no luck.
     
  4. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    USA
    The wireless client decides where to connect. With the same SSID for both bands and both bands changing channels... maybe the Chromecast clients and apps can't cope. I'd try nailing them done for lack of a better idea.

    OE
     
  5. Valsoray

    Valsoray New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    It did work perfectly fine with my previous router. I wish it worked with the same ssid.

    I'll give it a try though, thanks for the suggestion.