1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC86U: Devices on Network Map keep vanishing, reappearing...

Discussion in 'ASUS Wireless' started by bentdesigns, Apr 14, 2019.

  1. bentdesigns

    bentdesigns New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    I just upgraded from a Linksys router to a ASUS RT-AC86U router and so far so good, except...

    When viewing the Network Map my devices (both wired and wireless) keep vanishing and reappearing at random. I understand the Network Map refreshes constantly in your browser so that you can see what devices are joining and leaving the network, but why are my devices vanishing and reappearing at random from the list when they are clearly still connected to the network? This makes the Network Map a totally useless feature.

    Does anyone know why this occurs, and/or if a setting can be tweaked to prevent this?

    I haven't really tweaked much in terms of settings, it's a pretty standard setup (broadcasting my SSIDs, passwords established, no MAC filtering or manual IP assignments). I have the latest firmware installed.

    ASUS customer service was clueless on the matter.
     
  2. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,686
    Known issue (please use search) which is dependant on Asus to getting fixed. The RMerlin fork has the exact same issues, based on the same closed source code too.
     
  3. bentdesigns

    bentdesigns New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you L&LD, glad to know it's not just me.

    I had tried searching for related posts before, but found nothing, thus why I posted.

    Do you know if ASUS acknowledged the issue?
     
  4. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,686
    Seems like for some models, it has. But I don't follow Asus' firmware releases, I run RMerlin powered networks. :)
     
  5. roadwrenchtech

    roadwrenchtech Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    I found this bug quite annoying when I deployed a 86u at a customer site a few months back. I use wifiman app by ubiquiti for a better picture of the network. Reserving ip addresses is fun when they don't show in the list so I just shrunk the dhcp pool and assigned static addresses outside it for items that didn't show in list. That 86u was the first, and will be the last asus I put in the field.
     
  6. telUK

    telUK Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    135
    I posted the same thing a while back about this issue, its annoying when you want to check what's connected and whats not.
    Its pretty poor that Asus has never fixed it, as much as its a minor annoyance, my next router will not be an Asus if they can't be bothered to fix something that should not be broken in the first place.
     
    jazzy01 likes this.
  7. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,426
    Location:
    UK
    There's a new firmware that fixes "Network Map related issues".
     
    telUK likes this.
  8. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,609
    Location:
    USA
    You should have put "fixes" inside the quotes. :)

    OE
     
    ColinTaylor likes this.
  9. telUK

    telUK Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    135
    Cool, if this is indeed the fix that stops devices disappearing and reappearing in the network map, will this bug fix come to Merlins firmware eventually?
     
  10. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,426
    Location:
    UK
    Yes it will when he merges the GPL releases.
     
    telUK likes this.
  11. killeriq

    killeriq Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    was about to ask the same thing, never checked much the devices, but now as i use Arduino boards + LAN shield, wanted to check how they work, but they never show up on Asus Network Map :( even they get IP and working fine.
    I'm on Asus RT-AC88U Merlin firmware 384.8_2

    @RMerlin please could u confirm it's fixed and will be integrated in next release?

    Thanks
     
  12. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,686

    RMerlin can't do that. Closed source and all. His next release may also be before the GPL code drops too. ;)
     
  13. killeriq

    killeriq Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    I know he cant fix it, but he is definetely testing it and can confirm if it will be working in next Merlin release ;)
     
  14. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,426
    Location:
    UK
    He still can't confirm that. The Network Map issues are "unpredictable", so even if it works OK in his testing that doesn't meant it's "fixed" for other people. Besides, how do you know that he's "definitely testing it"?
     
    L&LD likes this.
  15. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,686
    In addition to the excellent points, ColinTaylor made, his next release doesn't just depend on the next GPL drop. He is on his own schedule with where he wants his fork to be. :)
     
  16. SeeSawSam

    SeeSawSam Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    A workaround for when you're in a pinch: Go to System Log: DHCP leases
     
  17. EventPhotoMan

    EventPhotoMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    I'd be curious to know, the association and disassociation of the client is an issue, as like I'm experiencing.
     
  18. killeriq

    killeriq Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    even with the latest FW i cant see all devices on my network :/ especially Arduino LAN shields - none of them