What's new

Wireless Router Help

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

maxgeo

New Around Here
Hi Everyone,
Please forgive me if I get any of the terminology wrong I'm still learning. I would like to purchase a Wireless modem/router for ADSL 2+ input, and supports Wireless g/n. The reason I need the g/n is my PS3 and iPhones are wireless g.

So to ensure I select the correct wireless modem/router I have been trying to find a modem/router with the ability to produce a wireless network with a good combination of throughput for applications (streaming,youtube, downloading etc.) at different locations in the house.

When I search the routers charts the best router only show as supporting wireless N, do they in fact support wireless g/n or only N? I'm getting a little confused by it all :confused:

Can anyone please recommend a wireless modem/router that would be suitable for this type of use with good wireless coverage/range.

Thanks in advance

Are you saying that you want to have wireless N _and_ G at the same time, or only G? N routers will also operate in a G compatible mode if desired.

Some N routers will operate on 2.4GHz frequency only, some can choose between 2.4GHz or 5GHz, and some can do both simultaneously. Expect prices to rise accordingly.

The 2.4Ghz frequency allows for support of G devices which only operate at this frequency. On an N router operating at the 2.4GHz frequency, a G device can connect if the router is set for G compatibility, but it will force all N devices linked to the same radio to go to the slower G mode as well.