What's new

Connect to CISCO VPN using Open VPN client

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

webgurru

Occasional Visitor
Hi,

I am new to this world and want to connect to CISCO VPN using Open VPN client. Is it possible to do this. If so could you please guide me with setting on router. I am using latest version of Merlin firmware on Asus RT-N66U

Best regards,
Webgurru

Hi,

I am new to this world and want to connect to CISCO VPN using Open VPN client. Is it possible to do this. If so could you please guide me with setting on router. I am using latest version of Merlin firmware on Asus RT-N66U

Best regards,
Webgurru

Totally different technologies. Cisco uses a slightly modified version of IPSEC, while OpenVPN uses OpenSSL-based tunnels.

Totally different technologies. Cisco uses a slightly modified version of IPSEC, while OpenVPN uses OpenSSL-based tunnels.

Hi Merlin,

Thanks for quick response. Is there any way to get this done? even with any other firmware?

Best regards,
Webgurru

Hi Merlin,

Thanks for quick response. Is there any way to get this done? even with any other firmware?

Best regards,
Webgurru

No. Proprietary stuff and all, you need a Cisco VPN client to connect to a Cisco router.

Only way around this is if that router can support pure IPSEC VPNs, then you will have to try installing Strongswan on your router (not sure if it can be done, never tried it myself).

No. Proprietary stuff and all, you need a Cisco VPN client to connect to a Cisco router.

Only way around this is if that router can support pure IPSEC VPNs, then you will have to try installing Strongswan on your router (not sure if it can be done, never tried it myself).

Hi Merlin,