What's new

Questions with using OpenVPN with DoT and Diversion

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jadog

Regular Contributor
I have been using AsusMerlin with Diversion for a few years and am on the latest version. I recently purchased a subscription to a VPN and would like to use that at the router level. I configured all 5 slots with VPN's around the country and defined to be used with VPN Director. I also set the "Accept DNS Configuration" as Exclusive. I then defined my subnet CID so that the VPN uses all devices on my network (I excluded Disney+ otherwise I'm unable to access it). During my testing, it appears that Diversion works along side the VPN. So far, so good. I then configured DNS over TLS and setup to resolve with Cloudflare servers. I can see this takes effect only if I change "Accept DNS Configuration" from "Exclusive" to "Strict". However, if I change to Strict, the DNS Leak Test shows my DNS is leaking to Cloudflare and my IP address shows as my own provider instead of the VPN. I suppose I can leave it as "Exclusive" and know that if my VPN drops offline or if I need to disconnect from the VPN, I'm still covered by DoT.

qbPnz05[1].png

ZTRh4DF[1].png

However, I have additional questions:
  1. Has the VPN Director replaced the x3mRouting script or does that provide some additional features?
  2. If I enable all 5 VPN clients for the same interface, when the first one fails, will it roll to the second and so forth?
  3. I've also been considering replacing Cloudflare with NextDNS so that I can configure additional network level control (custom blacklist/whitelist, parental controls, etc). Can I configure this so I can use DoT with NextDNS inside the VPN tunnel?