What's new

RT AX86U Pro IOT device unable to connect

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Summer10

New Around Here
Newbie here. I am setting up a new RT AX86U Pro and I'm having trouble with one IOT device, an irrigation controller. It seems to be able to connect to WiFi, but it doesn't connect to their server. They suggested one possiblity is the firewall is blocking one of the ports it needs to connect. Is there a way to see if these port numbers are blocked using the Web administration? Thanks!

Newbie here. I am setting up a new RT AX86U Pro and I'm having trouble with one IOT device, an irrigation controller. It seems to be able to connect to WiFi, but it doesn't connect to their server. They suggested one possiblity is the firewall is blocking one of the ports it needs to connect. Is there a way to see if these port numbers are blocked using the Web administration? Thanks!

Nothing outbound is blocked unless you have trend micro (aiprotection) enabled and it is detecting it as malicious, which you'd be able to see under the aiprotection stats.

If not, it may just not have a good signal, being connected and actually being able to pass data are not the same. What is the signal strength showing as?

What firmware are you on? I believe there have been some reports of issues with the guest WIFI on older firmware versions. I've not had issues with my IoT devices on either 2.4 or 5 GHz

Nothing outbound is blocked unless you have trend micro (aiprotection) enabled and it is detecting it as malicious, which you'd be able to see under the aiprotection stats.

If not, it may just not have a good signal, being connected and actually being able to pass data are not the same. What is the signal strength showing as?