1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Sky Q - Connection dropping AC86U

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Alex Kingsley, Nov 4, 2018.

  1. Alex Kingsley

    Alex Kingsley New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Hey

    Sorry if this is the wrong place for this.

    Yesterday I replaced my sky broadband hub with the a modem + RT-86U running Merlin firmware.
    Everything seems great with the you’re, signal and speed far improved etc, however my Sky Q 2tb box and also Sky Q mini box are now constantly dropping connection to the router. I’ve tried everything I can think of, changing channels, splitting 2.4 and 5 networks off and trying each of them separately, creating a separate guest network and connecting only the sky q boxes to the guest, downgrading firmware, nothing seems to work directly with the ASUS.

    About an hour ago I connected both sky boxes to a tp-link powerline access point, and since then both connections have been flawless (touch wood) so it looks to be an issue with the ASUS, but I just don’t know what.

    Any ideas?!
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. JDB

    JDB Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    569
    Stick to powerline for them, I had all sorts of weirdness with my Sky Q boxes using Wi-fi. You are limited to 2.4Ghz as well using a 3rd party router with them so it’s all a bit **** from Sky!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Alex Kingsley likes this.
  4. ApexRon

    ApexRon Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    Alex Kingsley likes this.
  5. gmangt4

    gmangt4 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    I have a similar setup, HG612 and AC68U, I had to run an ethernet cable to my sky mini box, 2TB box already wired and had no issues, mini box was wifi but it didn't connect to my Asus it connected to the main box's mesh type system, now I have all my sky boxes connected to a gigabit switch so they talk to one another without using the router except for internet access.
    When i used to look for WiFi networks on the mini it would only show a sky one, which was my main box, I hope that makes sense....short answer is wire them.
     
    Alex Kingsley and ApexRon like this.
  6. Alex Kingsley

    Alex Kingsley New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for your advice all

    So still getting the issue via tp link access point with different ssid.

    Will try hardwiring both the main box and mini box tonight and see how that goes!
     
  7. JDB

    JDB Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    569
    A working combo for me was hard wired main box with the mini doing Sky Mesh to main. However; the Sky boxes are brutal with their use of 80mhz bandwidth so my Asus was getting knocked back to 40mhz all the time. So I wired both and went to the hidden install menu on both Sky boxes and fully disabled 2.4 and 5 GHz.
    For the average user I’m sure the Sky mesh system is great, but for power user with things other than Sky routers/AP’s in their home it bring more problems than its worth.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!