What's new

Upgrade AX86U to AX88U Pro?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

BlueOrbit

Regular Contributor
I've been running Asus AX86U (Merlin FW) for a couple of years now. Mostly very happy with this router. I have a 1 Gig cable modem connection with a DOCSIS 3.1 modem, about 32 devices with many IoT devices on 2.4 GHz network, a couple of LAN connected PCs (the rest wireless), two 4K TVs and a couple of other TVs in the house of 2,500 sq ft. Some devices that are far away from the router and have a weaker connections (about 2 bars), but all seems to work well.

Not that I need to upgrade, but I like AX88U Pro and it would be an incremental upgrade. I realize that I likely won't notice much difference outside perhaps a better WiFi coverage for devices far away from the router.

What do you guys think - upgrade or not?

all seems to work well

New Asus router beta tester membership will cost you $300. Do it for what exactly reason in your case?

Some devices that are far away from the router and have a weaker connections (about 2 bars)

This is still a good connection. You don't need 4 bars corner to corner and your neighbors with 2 bars from your Wi-Fi.

I would not. The wifi coverage on the pro will not be any better then what you have now. Save your money and wait for wifi-7 coming soon. Just my 2 cents of course if you want to drop the cash feel free you won't notice much.

Wi-Fi 7, even shorter range, a new "need" for AiMesh - one beta tester membership won't be enough. More will be needed.

I see Mr. Hsu and Mr. Hu browsing Koenigsegg home page and wondering if 2x Gemera will mesh well together on the parking lot.