Beta Asuswrt-Merlin 386.8 Beta is out for specific models

Status
Not open for further replies.

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
Asuswrt-Merlin 386.8 Beta is now available for the RT-AX88U, GT-AX11000 Pro and GT-AXE16000 only. This release focuses on adding support for new models / new hardware revisions.

August 9th: 386.8 Beta 2 is now available.

Changes since beta 1:
Code:
c88edeb284 webui: update TZ database
a4cfce8ee2 webui: fix visibility of noise mitigation and DFS options on 5 GHz-2 band
414a3b048b webui: fix wireless modes shown for 5GHz-2 and 6GHz bands, and also select the current mode on page load
ac106f05e8 Bumped revision to beta 2


The highlights:


Please keep the discussion on this particular release. Off-topic posts will be moved, deleted or ignored depending on my mood at the time.

Downloads are here.
Changelog is here.
 
Last edited:

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
Known issues:
  • Wireless Mode not showing the current mode or offering the wrong modes on Wireless Professional page (That page is a work-in-progress, this particular issue is fixed in beta 2)
 
Last edited:

Plak

Occasional Visitor
Oh exciting! I will upgrade to this on my two GT-AXE16000's later today. If I notice an issue with the 5Ghz-1 modes I will try a factory reset after flashing. Thank you!
 

Zastoff

Very Senior Member
Smooth update from 386.8_alpha1-ge365a66780 to 386.8_beta1 on RT-AX88u
All is up and working after update.
Thanks RMerlin :)
 

Mutzli

Very Senior Member
Updated from latest alpha to beta1, so far everything is working as expected.
 

archiel

Senior Member
Dirty upgrades from 386.7_2 to 386.8_alpha1-ge365a66780 and then 386.8_beta1 in quick succession on RT-AX88U.

On first look, almost everything looks normal. IPv6, WiFi, AiMesh, addons all okay. The only thing that looks odd is regular messages of the form
Code:
Aug  5 20:25:34 RT-AX88U-5050 kernel: net_ratelimit: 10 callbacks suppressed
Aug  5 20:25:41 RT-AX88U-5050 kernel: net_ratelimit: 10 callbacks suppressed
Aug  5 20:25:57 RT-AX88U-5050 kernel: net_ratelimit: 5 callbacks suppressed

This was the same on both 386.8 variants.

Is anyone else seeing this and is it just a result of debug output or do I need to look further? Thanks, Archiel
 

Dedel66

Occasional Visitor
Update from 386.8_alpha1-ge365a66780 to 386.8_beta1.
All is up and working after update.
Thanks RMerlin
 

archiel

Senior Member
Update - issue with DDNS and IPV6 (using [alias].asuscomm.com) this repeats every couple of minutes

Code:
>
Aug  5 21:23:01 RT-AX88U-5050 inadyn[2558]: [response_update]HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Fri, 05 Aug 2022 20:23:01 GMT
Server: Apache
Content-Length: 0
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8

Aug  5 21:23:01 RT-AX88U-5050 inadyn[2558]: Updating cache for [alias].asuscomm.com
Aug  5 21:35:12 RT-AX88U-5050 rc_service: dhcp6c 8025:notify_rc restart_ddns
Aug  5 21:35:12 RT-AX88U-5050 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/service-event (args: restart ddns)
Aug  5 21:35:12 RT-AX88U-5050 ddns: update WWW.ASUS.COM [email protected], wan_unit 0
Aug  5 21:35:12 RT-AX88U-5050 ddns: Clear ddns cache.
Aug  5 21:35:12 RT-AX88U-5050 ddns: Start Inadyn(10).
Aug  5 21:35:12 RT-AX88U-5050 inadyn[8082]: In-a-dyn version 2.9.1 -- Dynamic DNS update client.
Aug  5 21:35:12 RT-AX88U-5050 inadyn[8082]: Update forced for alias [alias].asuscomm.com, new IP# nnn.nnn.nnn.nnn
Aug  5 21:35:13 RT-AX88U-5050 inadyn[8082]: alias address=<nnn.nnn.nnn.nnn>
Aug  5 21:35:13 RT-AX88U-5050 inadyn[8082]: request<GET /ddns/update.jsp?hostname=[alias].asuscomm.com&myip=nnn.nnn.nnn.nnn&model=RT-AX88U&fw_ver=3.0.0.4.386.8_beta1 HTTP/1.0
Authorization: Basic *******************************
Host: ns1.asuscomm.com
User-Agent: inadyn/2.9.1 https://github.com/troglobit/inadyn/issues

The ipv4 address is working fine and not changing - so it is the IPv6 ddns that is causing the loop and I suppose this is because Asus has not assigned an IPV6 address to the alias yet. any suggestions on how can I get Asus to add an IPv6 IP for my alias or failing that do I just sit and wait?
 

RDaneel

Occasional Visitor
I have also followed the path 386.7_2 to 386.8_alpha1-ge365a66780 to 386.8_beta1 - on my 88U, and all is looking good.

I had been preparing a report on using the alpha for 24 hours, but saw the beta with my name practically on it (88U and all), so went ahead with the beta - ALL were "dirty" upgrades.

I will note that my "dropping WiFi connection to my Pixel 5" appeared to already be addressed by the alpha, empirically speaking, and things are continuing to look good with the beta.

Finally, my log shows no "net_ratelimit" messages.
 

Damit1

Regular Contributor
Well, we are in the middle of a war (in Israel) so at least got a free night to play with FW check-ups.
Let's play!

One AiMesh AX88U node has been successfully upgraded.
My procedure:
386_5.2 (yeah, rolled back because of WIFI stability issues from 386_7.2) -> 386.8_alpha 1-> 386.8_beta 1
 

shabbs

Very Senior Member
Beta 1 loaded filthily on top of the last Alpha on both my RT-AX88U APs... no issues so far.
 

heslo

Regular Contributor
Flashed successfully on my AX88U over the top of 386.7_2. So far no issues and running smoothly
 

Damit1

Regular Contributor
Well, AX88U after update to 2 AX88Us, got a WiFi small issue.
Got a mixed AiMesh network involving AX88U and AX58U.

The router operates well.
When I try to do optimize to any device, it prefer weaker link router instead of more closer Node.

If I try too many times, I find the router crashing.

Flashed on dirty, reboot 5 times my system and even factory reset my system.

At the moment, my Ring doorbell do not Live Video on app (does connect to router, app like cannot make Live Video).

As an AP I think it is fine, but as a router- too buggy

Reverting to 386 5 2 for now in router station node, in AP node I keep it with that FW.
Hope it will be fixed soon....
 
Last edited:

det721

Part of the Furniture
Well, AX88U after update to 2 AX88Us, got a WiFi small issue.
Got a mixed AiMesh network involving AX88U and AX58U.

The router operates well.
When I try to do optimize to any device, it prefer weaker link router instead of more closer Node.

If I try too many times, I find the router crashing.

Flashed on dirty, reboot 5 times my system and even factory reset my system.

At the moment, my Ring doorbell do not Live Video on app (does connect to router, app like cannot make Live Video).

As an AP I think it is fine, but as a router- too buggy

Reverting to 386 5 2 for now.

If you got the balls give the new Asus beta 388.20477 a try on your AX88U.
 

Plak

Occasional Visitor
I did a full factory reset after flashing to 386.8_beta1 and I still cannot change the wifi modes. Might revert back to alpha1_g09802d268a for now not sure.
On both versions alpha1-ge365a66780 and beat1 (both pretty buggy to me) I cannot change wifi modes but works ok on alpha1-g09802d268a. Reverting back to alpha1-g09802d268a for now.
 
Last edited:

Damit1

Regular Contributor
If you got the balls give the new Asus beta 388.20477 a try on your AX88U.

Too much for one night, has to go now...
Plus, Im merlin-fan, ditching him will be irresponsible.

After reverting to 386 5 2 , Ring is back on track and so is my AX58U.
All me network devices are back to work now when Im on 386 5 2.


That Beta is buggy....
 
Last edited:

Mutzli

Very Senior Member
Too much for one night, has to go now...
Plus, Im merlin-fan, ditching him will be irresponsible.

After reverting to 386 5 2 , Ring is back on track and so is my AX58U.
All me network devices are back to work now when Im on 386 5 2.


That Beta is buggy....
I also experienced some issues with one ring camera. After the update to alpha1 it wouldn't connect. I removed the battery on this camera to restart it. It came right back online. It has been working since and survived the update to beta1 as well.
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
I did a full factory reset after flashing to 386.8_beta1 and I still cannot change the wifi modes.
What do you mean by "cannot change the wifi modes"?

I'll need a bit more info than that if I am to do any kind of debugging...

That Beta is buggy....
Or considering that the vast majority of RT-AX88U feedback so far has been positive, maybe what's buggy is your network and not the firmware. What troubleshooting steps have you done? As someone pointed out, IoT devices that have problems connecting to Wifi can very often be fixed by resetting them. IoT tends to use the cheapest wifi solutions possible, which will often have compatibility issues with anything more modern or advanced than a bog standard 6 years old 802.11n wifi network.
 

ugandy

Very Senior Member
ax88u on b1
no issues
 

Libre.autonome

New Around Here
Hello

I download the file for my GT-AX11000.

However the file have this name "GT-AX11000_PRO_386.8_beta1.zip". Could you please confirm if the PRO in the name is normal ?

Thanks in advance
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top