What's new

Questions About SkyNet and Blocking

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

djtech2k

Regular Contributor
I am somewhat new to skynet, so please forgive me if I ask a dumb question. I upgraded my router OS several months back now and followed some advice here to replace my old functionality, and skynet was one of them.

I notice on a somewhat regular basis that I get websites that will not load. After it started happening, I looked into it and its definitely skynet. It happens a few times per week minimum.

As far as I can remember, the only thing I setup in skynet was I have some countries blocked. I think I turned on some of the malware blocking or something like that too, but again I do not remember much. I think I may just be blocking outgoing, but again not 100% sure.

So in my latest example, I website I wanted to see would not load. I resolved the dns name to an IP and checked the stats in skynet. Sure enough, it was there. Here is the entry:

519x | 151.139.128.10 (US) | https://otx.alienvault.com/indicator/ip/151.139.128.10 | BanMalware: firehol_level3.netset

So my question is really what should I do with stuff like this? I obviously want protection, but I am getting a lot of sites that do not work. Is there any recommendation on how I should configure skynet to have protection but also be able to load sites, or is it just a matter of choosing to whitelist or not?

Thanks in advance.

Good and bad actors can be hosted on the same IP. Seems to be the case for Stackpath CDN. You might whitelist so you can get to your site, but what else have you then allowed unintentionally due to the shared IP?

I have this hit in my own logs as well. Still not sure what to do about it.