What's new

[RT-AC68U] ASUS WI-FI BRIDGE DROPS CONNECTION TO WIFI ROUTER

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

DarkAlpha

New Around Here
First time posting. I am not an expert on networking at all, but I thought that this would be simpler than it turned out to be.

Sorry for the long post, but I want to give as much information as possible. If you need to know anything else, I'll provide whatever I can to get this figured out.

Short Version:

After about 2 hours of a good connection and normal use, my Wi-Fi Bridge gets booted off the router, and I lose internet. Can't access the bridge, because it has apparently been moved to a different subnet mask.

Long Version:

Purpose: This is a personal home network. I am trying to avoid using the in-house ethernet to connect to the network and internet. I'm trying to accomplish this through a WIFI Bridge in my room connected to a WIFI Router in the living room.

Home Network Setup: Arris Surfboard cable modem connected by ethernet cable to a Netgear Nighthawk X4s AC2600 Wi-Fi Router. The Nighthawk provides network access and internet to the entire house through the ethernet in the wall.

Room Network Setup: A 5-Port D-Link Unmanaged Network Switch and a TP-Link 16-Port Unmanaged Network Switch are connected to each other and provide network to all the electronics in my room. From the TP-Link Switch, an ethernet cord runs to a LAN port on a RT-AC68U ASUS WIFI Router.