What's new

Running Merlin 378.56_2 and unable to mount JFFS partition

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Retreat

New Around Here
Hi All,

First off, I want to state that I'm a newbie to this forum, so if I don't know the rules yet, please be gentle and point me in the right direction! I appreciate the assistance!

I'm using the Asus RT-AC68W router and I'm trying to follow the directions for how to direct traffic over VPN:
https://github.com/RMerl/asuswrt-me...ver-VPN-and-Drop-connections-if-VPN-goes-down

The guide doesn't appear to be up to date, but the directions were clear enough for me to follow with enough follow-up reading. After lots of reading, I discovered that enable JFFS option is enabled by default now, which solved one of my questions, but now I'm having difficulty mounting the JFFS partition.

I've installed WinSCP and can connect to the router and see the Root folder, but when I double click on the Root folder, I don't see the JFFS partition that's noted in directions above. I've tried to reboot my router on a number of occasions and I still don't see this folder. After further research and lots of trial and error, I discovered that I can use Putty to telenet to the router and use command line, for which I determined that I could use the command:
mtd-erase2 -d jffs2

to delete the partition and see if there any errors in regards to bad memory blocks. I tried that and ran dmesg | more, but didn't see anything similar to the errors here:
http://www.snbforums.com/threads/jffs-not-mounting-read-only-error.8376/

Since I am extremely new to Merlin and all this modding on a router, it's a bit overwhelming, though I think I might be really close and I'm just missing some extra step or two.