What's new

Solved Please add BBR support for 5.04axhnd devices

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

ttc0419

Occasional Visitor
5.04 devices uses 4.19 kernel which has support for BBR. Please consider add this kernel module. It can greatly improve bandwidth for server applications. The firmware still only supports reno and cubic:
Bash:
admin@GT-AX6000-91F8:/tmp/home/root# cat /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_available_congestion_control
reno cubic

Last edited:
Okay, so I'm a noob at this: If BBR/BBR2 is not on chip, then it would need to be added such that it's interventionist (disabling HW acceleration). Current interventionist QoS (such a Cake) only really works below a certain data rate threshold due to the processor cost - if the data rate is too high, the CPU bottlenecks throughput!
So who would benefit from BBR? Is there a benefit from using BBR rather than, or alongside Cake for example on slower connections?
*Sorry just trying to figure out if we're being attracted to shiny things that hurt us!

Okay, so I'm a noob at this: If BBR/BBR2 is not on chip, then it would need to be added such that it's interventionist (disabling HW acceleration). Current interventionist QoS (such a Cake) only really works below a certain data rate threshold due to the processor cost - if the data rate is too high, the CPU bottlenecks throughput!
So who would benefit from BBR? Is there a benefit from using BBR rather than, or alongside Cake for example on slower connections?
*Sorry just trying to figure out if we're being attracted to shiny things that hurt us!
Sorry, but I didn't quite follow you.