[384.9_Alpha - builds] Testing all variants.

  • ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.
Status
Not open for further replies.

octopus

Very Senior Member
Loaded and working fine.
Only thing in DDNS "Check every" have different coulor (black)

ddns.png


Thanks !!!

https://onedrive.live.com/?authkey=!AGY2taGX02nVmWA&id=CCE5625ED3599CE0!1427&cid=CCE5625ED3599CE0
 
Last edited:

JDB

Very Senior Member
I’m sure I’m being blind, but where are the change logs for alpha releases?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

octopus

Very Senior Member
I’m sure I’m being blind, but where are the change logs for alpha releases?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
In the file and github
 

skeal

Part of the Furniture
Got this new alpha 1 running on my AC3100, thanks for all the bug fixes...great work!!:D
 

Sanna1967

Senior Member
384.9_alpha1-g67f9006e5
o RT-AX88U: Merged GPL 384_5247
o RT-AC68U, RT-AC86U: Merged GPL 384_45149
o RT-AC3200: GPL 384_45149 + updated binary blobs from Asus
o RT-AC88U, RT-AC3100, RT-AC5300: GPL 384_32799

And if you see in"General Log" :
WLCEVENTD: wl0.1: Assoc
WLCEVENTD: wl0.1: Disassoc
....
Before someone ask , here the answer ;) :
https://www.snbforums.com/threads/a...384-45149-12-05-2018.50232/page-5#post-454928
 
Last edited:

jerry6

Very Senior Member
do i see right an rt 3200 is included , anybody give it a try ??

whoose fw is this Merlin Asus or new by someone unknown ?
 
Last edited:

jerry6

Very Senior Member
success on 3200 , so far everything works , thanks Merlin you did well , and thanks for the fresh FW , 6months with the old FW WAS A bit much
Apply button not working on admin/system page cannot change to https or app, or other any changes on page , is there a fix for this , with FF AND CHROME browser
aso notice CPU temp has gone up 8 degrees and insteadof 64 mb of ram used now steady at 134mb of ram used, nothing other than these differences , works well though
 
Last edited:

Lotta Cox

Senior Member
Why do I get these MAC addys in the log with 384.9 alpha? I saw these in the official Asus FW that I tried a week or so ago. Never seen it with Merlin's. It is constant. I truncated them:
Dec 26 19:49:22 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Disassoc 34:29:8
Dec 26 19:49:23 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Assoc B4:F7:A
Dec 26 19:49:24 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Assoc 34:29:8F:1
Dec 26 19:49:24 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Assoc 34:29:8F:1
Dec 26 19:49:28 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Assoc 34:29:8F
Dec 26 19:50:08 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Disassoc EC:FA:B
Dec 26 19:50:11 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Assoc EC:FA:B
Dec 26 19:54:20 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Disassoc EC:88:92
Dec 26 19:54:20 WLCEVENTD: eth6: Assoc EC:88:92:B

EDIT: Looks like it stopped.
Another EDIT: Getting a LOT of these still. What is it?
 
Last edited:

Marin

Very Senior Member
Flashed both of my AC86U's and everything is working well so far. Thank you @RMerlin!
 

Sanna1967

Senior Member
Why do I get these MAC addys in the log with 384.9 alpha? I saw these in the official Asus FW that I tried a week or so ago
This message is just a info log event that seems to be activated when one or more wireless clients disconnect and reconnect.
It looks like a debug mode message, nothing more. And its only since 384_45149
This is not an annoying problem for me, my wireless clients are pretty stable to stay connected.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Gar

bluepoint

Very Senior Member
"Apply" button doesn't do anything when applied in Administration\System when trying to format JFFS partition at next boot.

RT-AC68P
 
Last edited:

Lotta Cox

Senior Member
Why do I get these MAC addys in the log with 384.9 alpha? I saw these in the official Asus FW that I tried a week or so ago. Never seen it with Merlin's. It is constant. I truncated them:
Dec 26 19:49:22 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Disassoc 34:29:8
Dec 26 19:49:23 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Assoc B4:F7:A
Dec 26 19:49:24 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Assoc 34:29:8F:1
Dec 26 19:49:24 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Assoc 34:29:8F:1
Dec 26 19:49:28 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Assoc 34:29:8F
Dec 26 19:50:08 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Disassoc EC:FA:B
Dec 26 19:50:11 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Assoc EC:FA:B
Dec 26 19:54:20 WLCEVENTD: eth5: Disassoc EC:88:92
Dec 26 19:54:20 WLCEVENTD: eth6: Assoc EC:88:92:B

EDIT: Looks like it stopped.
Another EDIT: Getting a LOT of these still. What is it?

When I go back to 348.8_2, I don't get any of these in the logs.
The official Asus FW had these entries. Something changed.
 

octopus

Very Senior Member
New function under: Administration=>System=>Network Monitoring
new function.png

isn't that associated to:
dns-probe.png

Tools=>Other Settings=>Advanced Tweaks and Hacks=>
Use DNS probes to determine if WAN is up

Uptime 0 days 10 hours 41 minute(s) 17 seconds
 
Last edited:

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture
With the RT-AC1900P I notice that clicking the Apply button in Administration/System does nothing in FF and Chrome. The Apply button appears to work on other pages.
Also, two instances of dnsmasq are running. One as user nobody, the other as admin, even without a plugged in USB stick, so no Diversion services are active:
Code:
201     1 nobody   S     1260  0.4   0  0.0 dnsmasq --log-async
202   201 tadmin      S     1252  0.4   0  0.0 dnsmasq --log-async
 

Maghook

Regular Contributor
RT-AC86U running AP mode, nvram reset after updating to 384.9a1

Ran across some issues by configuring up from scratch:
1) As mentioned in post #12 the "apply"-button in Administration\System tab doesn't work at all in my case (tried with IE and FF). (Alternatively tabbing through checkboxes and using return also doesn't work).
-----
EDIT (nvram compare). Following nvram vars are unset:
httpd_handle_request
httpd_handle_request_fromapp
last_httpd_handle_request
last_httpd_handle_request_fromapp
-----

2) Configuring all other settings in AP mode (leaving out System Administration settings) automatically changed option "Network Monitoring" in Administration\System from default=disabled to "DNS Query"=enabled with "Resvolved Target"="dns.msftncsi.com", "Respond IP"="131.107.255.255 112.4.20.71 fd3e:4f5a:5b81::1"
-------
EDIT (temporarily workaround):
nvram set dns_probe=0
nvram commit
-------

3) Temporarily downgrading to 384.8_2 just to be able to configure Administration\System options produces another glitch: there is no firmware update progress indicator bar /w percentage indicator shown at all, although update/downgrade procedure works correctly in the background. Still irritating behavior. Updating again to 384.9a1 leads to reproduceable glitch No. 1) (see above)
 
Last edited:

SMS786

Senior Member
Code:
Security
- Fixed CVE-2018-14710, CVE-2018-14711, CVE-2018-14712, CVE-2018-14713, CVE-2018-14714. Thanks for Rick Ramgattie's contribution.
- Fixed AiCloud/ Samba account vulnerability. Thanks for Matthew Cundari's contribution.
- Fixed DoS vulnerability. Thanks for Ruikai Liu's contribution.
- Fixed CVE-2018-17020, CVE-2018-17021, CVE-2018-17022.
- Fixed stored XSS vulnerability. Thanks for Duda Przemyslaw's contribution.
- Updated OpenSSL library.

@RMerlin Does the "Updated OpenSSL library" mean that we finally have 1.1.1? 68U here.
 

DonnyJohnny

Very Senior Member
Code:
Security
- Fixed CVE-2018-14710, CVE-2018-14711, CVE-2018-14712, CVE-2018-14713, CVE-2018-14714. Thanks for Rick Ramgattie's contribution.
- Fixed AiCloud/ Samba account vulnerability. Thanks for Matthew Cundari's contribution.
- Fixed DoS vulnerability. Thanks for Ruikai Liu's contribution.
- Fixed CVE-2018-17020, CVE-2018-17021, CVE-2018-17022.
- Fixed stored XSS vulnerability. Thanks for Duda Przemyslaw's contribution.
- Updated OpenSSL library.

@RMerlin Does the "Updated OpenSSL library" mean that we finally have 1.1.1? 68U here.
OpenSSL 1.1.1 not even ready in entware/openwrt.
Check yourself
“openssl version”

https://www.openssl.org/news/cl102.txt
 

Rogowskys

New Around Here
Hi folks,

I'm a long time user of Merlin, and reader of these forums, but this is my first post.

I 've been having odd 5Ghz issues ( RT-86U) for the past two months or so, where my Vizio TV keeps loosing the WiFi connection, so much so at times that I can't even watch a show without getting frustrated and turning it off. (only 10ft apart). I have also to re-input the wireless key on all my devices twice for no apparent reason, they just wouldn't connect. The TV connection seems to be related to the channel in use, as it is more reliable using the lower channels than higher, but it doesn't help much. There are only two other AP's in the 5Gghz band that I can see. The router worked just fine from when I purchased it in the summer, but since November or so, it's been a major pain in the arse.

This was the case with 384.8 and .7 before it, so I thought I would try 384.9alpha1 given that Asus said they "improved wireless stability" with this GPL version. Now, my log is filled with the following:

Code:
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: pgd = ffffffc00b351000
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: [00000000] *pgd=0000000015783003, *pud=0000000015783003, *pmd=000000000b041003, *pte=0000000000000000
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: CPU: 1 PID: 25086 Comm: dcd Tainted: P           O    4.1.27 #2
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: Hardware name: Broadcom-v8A (DT)
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: task: ffffffc0193134c0 ti: ffffffc013370000 task.ti: ffffffc013370000
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: PC is at 0xf73acf44
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: LR is at 0x1dc74
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: pc : [<00000000f73acf44>] lr : [<000000000001dc74>] pstate: 600e0010
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: sp : 00000000ffc915a8
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: x12: 000000000009ff10
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: x11: 00000000f66ff024 x10: 00000000000a02b4
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: x9 : 00000000f66ffc60 x8 : 00000000000a076c
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: x7 : 00000000f66ffc98 x6 : 00000000000a0766
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: x5 : 0000000000000000 x4 : 00000000f66ffc44
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: x3 : 0000000000000000 x2 : 0000000000000000
Dec 27 07:53:32 kernel: x1 : 000000000007c674 x0 : 0000000000000000
That appears to occur every 15-30 min on average, but occurred 2 minutes apart in a few instances. Does anyone have any suggestions before I go back to 384.8 or go out and buy a Ubiquiti AP?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top